We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, clean & comfortable”

William Dutton Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
William Dutton Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Portland B&B and Inns
kerang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location, clean & comfortable”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Good value for money, clean, comfortable and great location. We had 3 people stay in the one room, double and single bed. Beds were comfy, got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hunter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We booked in haste, and should have been more careful with our choice. We paid for three of us to stay in one room, but on asking for a third packet of biscuits (only two provided) was told "We're only a three star hotel and not obliged to provide additional biscuits", this also extended to an additional wine glass and additional pillow. The room was dusty along ledges and the window frames were dirty with black mould. At least the beds were comfortable which was some compensation. The fact that only four rooms were occupied is perhaps a reflection of the welcome we received which was surly and unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HunterNindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

3 of us stayed for 4 nights in 2 rooms, I have to say that the bed in our room was very comfortable, which is a big change from the usual in motels in this price range. 5 stars for the bed alone. The managers were very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and had everything we needed. Only gripe is the car park but I am not sure there is much that can be done to help, the parking spaces are very tight. I would be happy to stay here again any time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboobear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Was recommended to me at the local information bureau. Good value for money ($82 for the night). A good sized room which was clean and the bed was comfortable. Walking distance from the centre of town (except the weather meant needed to drive). Heating worked well so nice and warm on a very cold night. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwillyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Fairly standard motor inn. The included breakfast consisted of four pieces of bread and two small bottle of juice left in the fridge. The carpark is quite tight. The shower wasn't particularly clean. Our main grumble was that our unit (number 7) seemed exceptionally noisy - you can hear the phone ringing in reception all hours of the day, and the resident children shouting and playing. It's OK value for the price, but better for an overnight stop than an extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#7 of 7 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 km away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Portland Holiday Village
Portland Holiday Village
#6 of 10 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 7 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Dutton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Dutton Motel

Property: William Dutton Motel
Address: 141 Percy St, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price range (per night): $87 - $132
Hotel Class:3 star — William Dutton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your William Dutton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Dutton Motel Portland, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing