We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation”
Review of Mariner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariner Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had booked a cheap night on our journey between Melbourne and Mildura. The room was nice and spacious with a large table or two: well appointed with microwave, kettle, and toaster: very comfortable bed: nice hot shower. Definitely value for money- wish were had been able to stay longer. Quiet motel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be quiet. Cars parked outside your own door. We were not disturbed by early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Good winter accommodation as it has no air conditioning only heating. It was clean and tidy and well maintained. Reasonably quiet location even though on busy roadway. Has a good BBQ area but when we were there no gas bottle but I assume it would be available on request. Take own shampoo and conditioner as not supplied. The bedding was fine and comfortable and overall the stay way enjoyable without any really serious complaints. Would use again in winter as a backup option if our favorite motel was booked out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snow G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We had a wedding in portland so we didn't spend much time here. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was a bit stuffy and hot, the fan helped a little. It had everything we needed and KFC was right next door for that late night nugget fix!! We had lunch down the road at pickled pelican, it was great but it would have been a fair walk. Short drive though. The owners were lovely too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabananna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We are a senior couple travelling through towards Adelaide.
Our objective was to obtain an inexpensive comfortable and quiet room for the night.
This property achieved all those objectives for us, having a very comfortable bed and pillows, and the windows blacked out adequately.

This motel is very good value for an older property.

The staff were very friendly, which contrasted to the attitude of some in nearby motels that we looked at!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliftonwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Aged motel run by a friendly host. Concrete block rooms are pretty depressing but the room is as the motel claims - clean, quiet and comfortable. Rates were bumped for festival weekend so was not good value for type of hotel. A bit far to walk to restaurants and foreshore and taxis not in abundance. No frills so don't forget to take shampoo and conditioner but good hairdryer! Its okay but i suspect on a less busy weekend there may be better options.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waddrddtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 km away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
98 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Hotel Bentinck
Quality Hotel Bentinck
#6 of 7 in Portland
51 reviews
0.8 km away
Portland Retro Motel
Portland Retro Motel
#4 of 7 in Portland
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Whalers Rest Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Portland
74 reviews
0.6 km away
Admella Motel
Admella Motel
#5 of 7 in Portland
59 reviews
1.7 km away
Melaleuca Motel
Melaleuca Motel
#3 of 7 in Portland
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motel

Address: 196 Percy St | Next to K.F.C, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $81 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mariner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motel Portland, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing