We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
emmabW4251HK
Mount Eliza
Quaint, historic, gorgeous
Review of Victoria House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2023via mobile
We were only staying for one night however it was very nice. The kids loved the dog and the cat and Mandy was very friendly. It was a bit of a squish with the kids so I would recommend for couples however all in all it was a beautiful piece of history that is definitely worth visiting.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Cars are parked out on the road. Would recommend telling reception before hand if you are...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 3 studio style over looking Portland Bay with Balcony
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of Clifftops Studios all have Full Sea Views
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunrise Cottage Bedroom
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
11.0 km from Victoria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
111
31
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
31
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit cake sitting room communal lounge complimentary port boarding school modern motel other guests small fridge large room stayed two nights enjoyed our stay place to stay continental breakfast road trip sherry mandy hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2023

We arrived very late on a Friday night as along with several others staying for the weekend at Victoria House, our special train from Melbourne was unpunctual due to factors outside of Seymour Rail Heritage Group's control.

Entry was via a code that opened a locked box.

Our room was accessed via the 1858 house's original staircase, built at a time when building regulations were non existent so the stair rises don't meet 21st century standards. It must have been hard carrying bed frames or mattresses up and down.

The house is beautiful inside, as was our specious room.

The latter had a good Queen bed with excellent linen, two bedside tables with lamps, a two seater sofa and in what would originally have been a separate room, a small round dining table with two chairs (only one of which had a cushion),m a cabinet containing a fridge, tea and coffee and spoons.

Lighting was very good in the room. Holland blinds blocked light: we moved the bedspread's accompaniment to block light coming in from the hallway.

The fridge had some milk plus cold water, as Portland's water quality is abysmal: shocking.

The toilet was through a period door, but the bathroom sink was outside near the fridge, but on a raised tiled area.

WiFi was at time a bit slow but hot water for the shower and sink worked well. Towels were standard white, and adequate. The shower was roomy with three small plastic bottles (made in mainland China, no doubt at a cheap rate and perhaps even by prisoners) of shampoo/conditioner.

Similarly, soap came from mainland China. Why can't B & Bs charging high rates support Pental in Shepparton that manufacturers motel sized soap? It's stocked on the government-run NSW TrainLink XPT's showers between Melbourne and Sydney but clearly tourism proprietors despite imploring us to 'see Australia' prefer to save a few cents an item and not buy from Pental's Country Life soap range. Ironic.

There was a wall-mounted TV that was easily viewable only from the dining chairs, not from the bed.

The heating was a Mitsubishi Electric ceiling mounted reverse cycle air conditioner, probably installed within the last five years.

It was OK, though a bit noisy. I have the same manufacturer's aircon at home but never use it for heating, as ducted gas heating is far more effective and quieter. Why one would go for electric heating when gas gives a proper perception of warmth is beyond me.

Apart from briefly seeing the friendly cleaner on Saturday morning when we headed out, we did not see the owners or any staff.

I had a quick look at what was on offer for the continental breakfast: some yoghurt from German-owned supermarket Aldi - again, why don't the owners buy Dairy Farmers, Yoplait or Farmers Union yoghurts manufactured by Australia's listed dairy company Bega and available at the excellent Daly's Supa IGA up Percy St in Portland - plus toast and tea/coffee. Definitely not worth it so we ate elsewhere.

It's a commentary on how overpriced Australia is that here the owners wanted another A$16 per person per breakfast, without even a small hot dish.

In the UK and Europe, for the same or very similar overnight tariff, one would typically have breakfast thrown in.

There was a first floor microwave and toaster outside the room, a good idea that my wife used.

The lounge looked inviting but we did not have time to enjoy it.

If tourism businesses in places like Portland wonder why so many of us prefer to go overseas on holidays, the "nickel and diming" (as the Yanks would say) common in expensive Australia is part of the answer (although in my case I've been to almost every nook and cranny, so no need to repeat poor value travelling in Australia).

If you decide to stay be aware IIRC there's only two ground floor rooms. As there's no lift, the others are unsuitable for the less abled. This will be a problem as Australia contiues to see median ages increasing. The property lacks a lift with heritage restrictions meaning installation is most unlikely.

Restaurants are nearby as are a few takeaway places, with the All Saints historic bluestone Catholic Church (Saturday night Vigil Mass at 1800 hours and Sunday mornings 1000 hours) giving a warm welcome to visitors from all around the world, including seafarers.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2023 via mobile

Fabulous B&B awesome plus when in Portland this is the place to stay can't say enough nice things about Mandy and her husband absolutely brilliant, the food is delicious the breakfast was the perfect start to the day our room was warm and so comfy ,do yourself a favour and book in here .

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt_Wilks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

Lovely place to stay. We three ladies had a large room with a winding staircase to the upper level. Living room/bedroom/kitchonette downstairs along with a bathroom. Loft upstairs had two beds. Price was very reasonable. Owner is friendly and provided everything we needed. Coffee maker, small fridge, microwave, ... even cookies! We loved the sweet dachound dog. The main building is full of antiques and was lovely. Small fireplace room to relax in and a sunroom. I would definitely reccomend this place to others. We loved that the owner allowed us to split the bill amongst the three of us. We enjoyed our stay and hated to leave. Walking distance of a lovely pub The Royal for dinner.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cindyloufromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2023

Mandy and John looked after us so well when we stayed at the historic Victoria House in Portland while walking the Great South West Walk. Delicious cooked breakfasts every morning, a pre-dinner sherry or after dinner port, plus a comfy bed during our 4 night stay - what more could you ask for. Definitely THE place to stay in Portland!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023

We stayed two nights at Victoria House, a very nice Victorian-era building that reminded us of British B&B's with its period decor, pretty rear garden, and waking up to the smell of cooked breakfasts wafting in the air - yummy! It is well located just on the edge of Portland's small ''CBD '' and a short walk around the corner to the beach, seafront reserve, Tourist Info office, Tram etc. Even though a big event was on (Portland Classic Car Show and Shine) we never had any trouble getting a parking spot on the street in front of the building. Parking is free and unrestricted, The hotel also has a communal lounge. A large carafe of chilled drinking water in the gust room fridges is topped up every day as well as tea & coffee. making facilities in the rooms.

Date of stay: February 2023
1  Thank Mike-and-Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews