We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gelderlander
Gelderland

A lovely house

Review of Annesley House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2019via mobile
This is really a great place to stay! I made the reservation because of the attractive site and the history of the house. It has been a physician’s practice in the early days. There was one room left when I booked, so I took that. Tony phoned me the day after whether I wanted a bigger room, well sure and so it happened. The place has retained all its grandeur and is maintained very well. Roomy rooms with everything you desire. I loved it here
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jan 2020
We are very pleased that you loved your stay at Annesley House, and thank you for the great review.
Tony - Annesley House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$222
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$249
  • Hotels.com
    AU$242
0.1 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$217
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$217
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from front of Entry looking to Ocean
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
  • Hotels.com
    AU$168
0.5 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
EXTERIOR
AU$153
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge
AU$180
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
    0.5 km from Annesley House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Queen Room
    AU$118
    Fully refundable
    • Tripadvisor
      AU$118
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      AU$118
    0.7 km from Annesley House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$190
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      AU$190
    0.5 km from Annesley House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    One of Clifftops Studios all have Full Sea Views
    AU$178
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      AU$178
    • eDreams
      AU$178
    1.7 km from Annesley House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$160
    Fully refundable
    • Tripadvisor
      AU$160
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      AU$160
    0.4 km from Annesley House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$135
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      AU$128
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$139
    1.8 km from Annesley House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Portland
    Reviews (23)
    Filter reviews
    23 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 23 reviews
    Reviewed 17 November 2019

    Beautiful superior place to stay. Stunning decors and furniture. Each room is unique and grand. Location is spot on convenient. The owners are very lovely people. I highly recommend this place. 5 Star

    Date of stay: November 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Shalimar A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020

    Hello Shalimar, thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased that you loved your stay at Annesley House.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 July 2019

    We have stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel. Excellent services and individual styled rooms. Great recommendation if you are staying in Portland. Great location to visit seal colony and do whale watching!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Marijn1981
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

    Thank you for the wonderful review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Annesley House.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 July 2019

    Our journey took us from Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road to Portland Annesley House! What a charming and cozy place !! We traveled in a group and had several rooms in the house! Each room is beautifully antique furnished with great details. The possibility for coffee and tea, as well as a fresh milk, were in every room! Furthermore the rooms were equipped with an Hair dryer and the softest towels I have ever had in my hand!!! Since we felt so comfortable in the house, we always cooked in one of the rooms and ate together! We loved our stay at Annesley house! A perfect base for trips in the area !! Thank you Tony of being such a great host !

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank verbin75
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

    Thank you for the excellent review and we are very pleased that you loved your stay in Portland at Annesley House.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 March 2019

    We were fortunate to stay at the beautifully appointed Annesley House over the Labour Day Long weekend in March. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome - the hosts were warm & friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed for a relaxing and pleasant long weekend. The Doctors room was perfect for our family. We are already discussing our next trip to Portland and secretly hope this gem stays a secret so we can secure our next booking with ease!

    Date of stay: March 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Roadtripers99
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

    We are so happy that you loved your stay at Annesley House, and look forward to seeing you again on your next adventure to Portland.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 February 2019

    We stayed in the outside cottage. It was great to have tons of room and your own garden. I'd highly recommend the cottage. I was worried about the location but for Portland it was a great location just next to the main street of shops and restaurants.

    Date of stay: February 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank TheGoBird
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

    Thank you for the great review and we are pleased you loved your stay in Housekeepers Cottage and our central location in town.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews