We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Veronika Binder

The best of our road trip! Such a charming place

Review of Annesley House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 July 2019
Our journey took us from Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road to Portland Annesley House! What a charming and cozy place !! We traveled in a group and had several rooms in the house! Each room is beautifully antique furnished with great details. The possibility for coffee and tea, as well as a fresh milk, were in every room! Furthermore the rooms were equipped with an Hair dryer and the softest towels I have ever had in my hand!!! Since we felt so comfortable in the house, we always cooked in one of the rooms and ate together! We loved our stay at Annesley house! A perfect base for trips in the area !! Thank you Tony of being such a great host !
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this review
Responded 24 July 2019
Thank you for the excellent review and we are very pleased that you loved your stay in Portland at Annesley House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$167
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from front of Entry looking to Ocean
AU$166
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
0.5 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$204
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$204
  • Priceline
    AU$204
  • Hotels.com
    AU$204
0.4 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$140
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
0.7 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$154
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$135
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room with Queen and Single Bed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$117
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
0.5 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$163
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Annesley House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
21
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019

We were fortunate to stay at the beautifully appointed Annesley House over the Labour Day Long weekend in March. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome - the hosts were warm & friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed for a relaxing and pleasant long weekend. The Doctors room was perfect for our family. We are already discussing our next trip to Portland and secretly hope this gem stays a secret so we can secure our next booking with ease!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roadtripers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

We are so happy that you loved your stay at Annesley House, and look forward to seeing you again on your next adventure to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019

We stayed in the outside cottage. It was great to have tons of room and your own garden. I'd highly recommend the cottage. I was worried about the location but for Portland it was a great location just next to the main street of shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Thank you for the great review and we are pleased you loved your stay in Housekeepers Cottage and our central location in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a few days before Christmas. Annesley House was in a perfect location in town, just down the road from the port and lots of great little shops. Our room was lovely and was everything we needed while staying in Portland. We will be staying again ! Our thanks to the Manager

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank BigJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

Thank you for the excellent review of Annesley House. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

Wonderfully appointed accommodation. Multille styles of rooms to suit your stay, Annesley House is premium in every aspect. Immaculately presented, with every detail taken care of - bedding, pillows, linen, spa and bathroom facilities; Tony and John have added a lovely touch to a historic setting. Relaxing, comfortable and stylish. In a word - perfect.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank robtU3455CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Hello Rob, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Annesley House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We had a very comfortable night here, will definitely stay again if we’re in the area. We had everything we needed, soft fluffy towels, robes and toiletries. The owner was very friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C53UNkarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony O, Owner at Annesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Hello Karen, Thank you for the great review and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews