We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week in Hervey Bay”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great week in Hervey Bay”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We found the Akama resort to be a very comfortable place to be in Hervey Bay. The apartment was fresh, clean, modern and very spacious,the staff were so friendly and helpful, it seemed as if we had been there before they made us most welcome. Our week away was enjoyable even though it was wet weather, we actualy enjoyed the pool. I would go as far to say it would be hard to find a better place to stay in Hervey Bay. We shall return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 167Billy167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Hello 167Billy167
Wow – so nice to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us and that you all had such a fun time at Akama.
Our family apartments are very spacious and we know that contributes to our guests being able to relax and take full advantage of the little extras that we offer. Such a pity that it rained while you were with us but you are right we had lots of guests utilizing the pool at that time and the BBQ area was a popular spot as well. It may rain in Queensland but it never gets cold.
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review it was very much appreciated. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Akama Resort in the near future.
Kind regards,
Matt and Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    74
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
205
188
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

apartment and pool aarea lovely
service was shocking
staff rude and unhelpful
needed late check out tehy wanted to charge us so much was cheaper to check out and check into the STUNNING peppers hotel for a day rate tahn stay there the extra few hours -

NO SERVICE

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gjw5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
After investigation we have been able to ascertain that you did indeed stay with us in January 2009 not March 2011 as stated in your review. (3 years ago) We are quite surprised with your negative review as after reading our notes pertaining to your stay in January 2009 we made significant exceptions for you by allowing you to move your booking when you called the day prior to your expected arrival to cancel – as it was related to an injury to your child we agreed to let you move the booking (in peak season Christmas) with no penalty which is against standard policy as stated on our web site and all our confirmation letters.We also assisted you on a number of occasions with faxing and printing and no charges for this service as a gesture of goodwill as you were having some difficulty with organizing your flights etc.
We offered you a late check-out till 12 noon but you wanted to delay your departure until late afternoon,we did explain that we were unable to assist you with such a late departure due to the next guest checking in at 2 pm but could allow a 12pm check-out but at the standard rate of $45. You rejected this offer as you felt the charge to be excessive. You stated in your review that you had a day rate at a neighbouring resort that was more reasonable than our fee, after some consultation with the property in question they do not offer a ‘day rate’ and have expressed their disappointment with being mentioned in your review.
We always respond to our guests reviews regardless of the review being negative or positive as we respect our guests and their opinions but on this occasion we feel the time that has elapsed since your visit and the false details means it is imperative that we clarify our position.
Regards,
Matt & Pia Bysher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked into the Akama based on the reviews of others and we weren't disappointed. I guess people only stay in Hervey Bay to have access to Fraser Island. The apartment was clean, extremely comfortable and it felt very homely, not to mention spacious. I would highly recommend this resort for when staying in Hervey Bay. And make sure you book a hummer tour of Fraser Island, an incrediblly private and enjoyable experience.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Hi Worems,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at Akama and that you found the apartments so comfortable – the ‘home away from home’ feeling is important to us but we still like to know that our guests enjoy those extra little comforts as well.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Fraser Island – it is a unique and rewarding experience.
Thanks again.
Matt and Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My three friends and I booked a 2-bedroom apartment for the weekend, and it totally exceeded our expectations. We were amazed by how spacious it was. The apartment was so nice and clean. The resort also had a great pool, jacuzzi and bbq-area downstairs. Regina in the reception was really helpful with both booking the apartment and the tours for Fraser Island. We will definitely come back here next time we stop by at Hervey Bay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tu_Nhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Hello Tu_nhi
Thanks for the great review.
You were such a nice group of friends – it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Akama and we would love to have you back whenever you get another break from your studies.
We knew you would have a great time on Fraser Island – the style of tour you chose is very popular and the swim in Lake McKenzie is often reason enough to take any of the day tours we offer – it’s absolutely beautiful.
Look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards,
Matt and Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My wife, two kids and I visited Akama Resort for two nights in 2011. We were blown away with the size of the apartment. Each apartment is like a penthouse. It was perfect base for our family. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a modern, large apartment in a great location for a single night or longer holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanJSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hi NathanJSpicer,
Thank you for your review.
One of the biggest surprises guests seem to get when they open the door is the size of our apartments, gone are the days of staying in a small cramped unit. For a little extra $$$ you get a whole lot more.
Hope to see you and the family again one day.
Kind regards
Matt & pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.3 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
2.7 km away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.5 km away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.1 km away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#6 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
10.8 km away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Property: Akama Resort
Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price range (per night): $175 - $254
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi. Book with us direct for the best discounted offers and exclusive apartment types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Otel, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing