We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akama Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 116*
USD 101*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 152*
USD 97*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn on Main Hervey Bay(Pialba)(Great Value!)
USD 82*
USD 74*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 136*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 79*
USD 77*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Quarterdecks Retreat(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 105*
USD 100*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
USD 75*
USD 72*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Shelly Bay Resort(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 114*
USD 97*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park(Scarness)(Great Value!)
USD 37*
USD 36*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
427
81
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
81
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat clubdeluxe penthousefraser islandshort walk to the marinawhale watchingthe kitchenlarge balconyfifth floorbeautiful apartmentbedroom apartmentcoffee machinethree bedroombooking toursboat harbourheated poolrecommend this resortliving area
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

apartment and pool aarea lovely
service was shocking
staff rude and unhelpful
needed late check out tehy wanted to charge us so much was cheaper to check out and check into the STUNNING peppers hotel for a day rate tahn stay there the extra few hours -

NO SERVICE

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gjw5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

After investigation we have been able to ascertain that you did indeed stay with us in January 2009 not March 2011 as stated in your review. (3 years ago) We are quite surprised with your negative review as after reading our notes pertaining to your stay in January 2009 we made significant exceptions for you by allowing you to move your booking when you called the day prior to your expected arrival to cancel – as it was related to an injury to your child we agreed to let you move the booking (in peak season Christmas) with no penalty which is against standard policy as stated on our web site and all our confirmation letters.We also assisted you on a number of occasions with faxing and printing and no charges for this service as a gesture of goodwill as you were having some difficulty with organizing your flights etc.
We offered you a late check-out till 12 noon but you wanted to delay your departure until late afternoon,we did explain that we were unable to assist you with such a late departure due to the next guest checking in at 2 pm but could allow a 12pm check-out but at the standard rate of $45. You rejected this offer as you felt the charge to be excessive. You stated in your review that you had a day rate at a neighbouring resort that was more reasonable than our fee, after some consultation with the property in question they do not offer a ‘day rate’ and have expressed their disappointment with being mentioned in your review.
We always respond to our guests reviews regardless of the review being negative or positive as we respect our guests and their opinions but on this occasion we feel the time that has elapsed since your visit and the false details means it is imperative that we clarify our position.
Regards,
Matt & Pia Bysher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked into the Akama based on the reviews of others and we weren't disappointed. I guess people only stay in Hervey Bay to have access to Fraser Island. The apartment was clean, extremely comfortable and it felt very homely, not to mention spacious. I would highly recommend this resort for when staying in Hervey Bay. And make sure you book a hummer tour of Fraser Island, an incrediblly private and enjoyable experience.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Hi Worems,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at Akama and that you found the apartments so comfortable – the ‘home away from home’ feeling is important to us but we still like to know that our guests enjoy those extra little comforts as well.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Fraser Island – it is a unique and rewarding experience.
Thanks again.
Matt and Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My three friends and I booked a 2-bedroom apartment for the weekend, and it totally exceeded our expectations. We were amazed by how spacious it was. The apartment was so nice and clean. The resort also had a great pool, jacuzzi and bbq-area downstairs. Regina in the reception was really helpful with both booking the apartment and the tours for Fraser Island. We will definitely come back here next time we stop by at Hervey Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tu_Nhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Hello Tu_nhi
Thanks for the great review.
You were such a nice group of friends – it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Akama and we would love to have you back whenever you get another break from your studies.
We knew you would have a great time on Fraser Island – the style of tour you chose is very popular and the swim in Lake McKenzie is often reason enough to take any of the day tours we offer – it’s absolutely beautiful.
Look forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards,
Matt and Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My wife, two kids and I visited Akama Resort for two nights in 2011. We were blown away with the size of the apartment. Each apartment is like a penthouse. It was perfect base for our family. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a modern, large apartment in a great location for a single night or longer holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanJSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Hi NathanJSpicer,
Thank you for your review.
One of the biggest surprises guests seem to get when they open the door is the size of our apartments, gone are the days of staying in a small cramped unit. For a little extra $$$ you get a whole lot more.
Hope to see you and the family again one day.
Kind regards
Matt & pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My partner & I wanted somewhere to relax and enjoy a quiet Xmas & New year whilst visiting my immediate family who all live in Hervey Bay. We stayed in a 2brm ocean view apartment on the 4th floor from Xmas eve 2011 until 2nd Jan 2012 ... we didn't want to leave!

We loved the layout of the apartment with both bedrooms having their own bathrooms and separate to each other plus the large open plan kitchen/living area. All our meals and late afternoons were spent on the large private balcony overlooking the pool area. The best thing was waking up every morning to the view from here ... the ocean and nearby Fraser Island.

One of the surprising things was that the pool & BBQ area were always available and never over-crowded (even on Xmas Day & New Years Eve). We really enjoyed the intimacy of a small resort and the location is great - a few minutes walk to the beach and the Boat Club.

Apartments are sound proof, air-conditioned (not that we used it with the ocean breeze coming in through the open bi-fold doors) and extremely clean. Secure undercover parking gave us peace of mind.

Even though there is no Restaurant on-site we had a lovely meal next door at the Ramada Hotel at Smokey Joe's Cafe Bar & Grill.

What really sold me though on booking Akama Resort was the on-site Managers Matt & Pia who kindly showed me through a 2brm apartment and the rest of the complex when I was up in Hervey Bay in early Oct visiting my Mum. They were so friendly and extremely helpful I booked immediately for our Xmas break. Thank you - we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Hi Trish J,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We remember when you and your mum came in and had a nice chat. We think most guests are surprised by the size and cleanliness of our apartments and this is what keeps them coming back. We like to class ourselves as a small Boutique resort and even when we are full it is always still peaceful and quiet. Look forward to seeing you back again, don’t forget to keep an eye on our website for super cheap off season rates and specials.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews