We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
355
50
11
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
50
11
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious apartment across the road perfect place to stay first floor stayed for nights sea view waves balcony mountains town kitchen unit luxury
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I rang this hotel to reserve a room saying I would be there in 2 hours (I was traveling from Blenheim) and was told that was fine. I showed up 2 hours later to find out my reserved room had been taken 30 minutes ago. Charming. No apologies, no recommendations for alternative accomodation. In a month of travel in New Zeland I only met one hotel owner I didn't like and he owns this place. Avoid.

In the end I went downt the road to the Waterfront Appartments which are just as conveniently located but at a lower price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your booking in writing or you might not have a room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Tribesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear 'Tribesman', we are surprised by your review. Whenever we take a booking we take a name and make the booking. We would NEVER sell an apartment twice. If we get 'walkins' and we are full, we always go out of our way to help these people find alternative accomodation. We pride ourselves on our professionalism. Clearly you do not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Waves is awesome! We were only going to stay 1 night, ended up staying 4 and did not want to leave then.

The owners are super nice and helpful. Rooms were great. Easy walk to any place in Kaikoura.

We were made to feel as family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Really enjoyed our stay, apartments had every facility, we were able to wash and dry our clothes, ready for the next stop offs, where the facilities were nt so good! Would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed her just overnight on our honeymoon in NZ. It was a great little gem. The apartment was huge, really well priced and overlooked the water. It was recently furnished - everything was pretty much new and clean. The only slight drawback was the road noise was a little loud during the night as we were right on the road overlooking the water. But apart from that we were very happy with the friendly owners and a comfortable place to stay. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Might choose a room slight back from the road - you might lose a view, but its probably a bit of a quieter option. Oh, and no lifts - so dont pack a huge case.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezza76au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a great stay at 'Waves' Best apartment we rented in our months stay in NZ. Amenities second to none and helpfulness of the owners outstanding. Kaikoura is one of our memorable stays and would recommend it to others. Beautiful part of the world but imagine it to be quite busy in season.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews