We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
355
50
11
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
50
11
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious apartmentacross the roadperfect place to stayfirst floorstayed for nightssea viewwavesbalconymountainstownunitkitchenluxury
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Waves on the Esplanade. The managers are incredibly helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic. The apartments are impeccably clean. We had originally planned to stay only one night but chose to extend as we were enjoying ourselves so much. We highly recommend Waves to anyone planning on visiting Kaikoura!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

What a fantastic stay we had in Kaikoura and the owners were the most helpful and lovely people you would want to meet.
We would return anytime.
Thank You

Room Tip: All apartments have a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sho2Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose Waves on the Esplanade for the final three nights of our New Zealand holiday and Liz was fabulous. At the last moment we changed our booking from one night to three and Liz made it all happen. Staying with another couple we found the 2 befroom apartment had plenty of space and after 2 weeks of travelling we appreciated the home comforts of a laundry and a clohes line! Kaikoura is a beautiful seaside town and it was lovely to sit on the balcony in the morning and watch the sun rise over the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Three of us stayed for two nights in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment during a recent trip to the South Island of NZ.

Good location within walking distance of the town and very quiet

The apartment was modern, spacious and well equiped and the views were great
Also being fully equiped with a washing machine and dryer was a great help in catching up on a weeks worth of washing

i would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We choose to stay in Kaikoura for 2 nights, after reading about "Waves on the Esplanade" we booked for an apartment. It was simply wonderful, everything we needed after being on the road for almost 10 days was there! A big apartment with ALL you need, washing and drying machines,dishwasher and big rooms with wonderful beds, fantastic view and very well located.The apartment was sparkling clean with a delicate scent of roses . Damer and Liz were very helpful too, even offering to take us to the restaurant if we wanted to drink and not drive...Definitely the place to stay in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila_poli_peer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews