We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to stay in Kaikoura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed 20 April 2012

What a great place to stay! The rooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable with every need being met. Our host was really friendly and gave us great advice! I do recommend Waves as the place to stay in Kaikoura!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayleen092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Waves on the Esplanade. The managers are incredibly helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic. The apartments are impeccably clean. We had originally planned to stay only one night but chose to extend as we were enjoying ourselves so much. We highly recommend Waves to anyone planning on visiting Kaikoura!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

What a fantastic stay we had in Kaikoura and the owners were the most helpful and lovely people you would want to meet.
We would return anytime.
Thank You

Room Tip: All apartments have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sho2Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose Waves on the Esplanade for the final three nights of our New Zealand holiday and Liz was fabulous. At the last moment we changed our booking from one night to three and Liz made it all happen. Staying with another couple we found the 2 befroom apartment had plenty of space and after 2 weeks of travelling we appreciated the home comforts of a laundry and a clohes line! Kaikoura is a beautiful seaside town and it was lovely to sit on the balcony in the morning and watch the sun rise over the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Three of us stayed for two nights in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment during a recent trip to the South Island of NZ.

Good location within walking distance of the town and very quiet

The apartment was modern, spacious and well equiped and the views were great
Also being fully equiped with a washing machine and dryer was a great help in catching up on a weeks worth of washing

i would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.4 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
1 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.5 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $251 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing