We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fishing!”
Review of Fish Kaikoura

Fish Kaikoura
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fish Kaikoura runs through out the year and caters for smaller groups between 2 & 6 people, providing a more personal touch.We launch from South Bay Marina (Moa Road)so we can have you fishing Blue Cod & other species of fish within minutes of leaving the shore. We will show you how to catch a delicious Crayfish before heading to our bountiful fishing grounds. If you don't catch any fish we will refund you in full!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If you are looking for the BEST fishing charter you'll ever go on the definitely go with Fish Kaikoura. Mark and Peter were fantastic hosts, very friendly and helpful and we were spoiled with a wealth of local knowledge from Mark.
Correspondence when organising the trip was very prompt and very clear.
We managed a huge haul of Blue Cod, Perch and lots of Crays!
I cannot recommend Fish Kaikoura enough.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blue cod"
in 11 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 12 reviews
"perch"
in 7 reviews
"excellent fishing"
in 3 reviews
"lobster pot"
in 2 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"great morning"
in 2 reviews
"crays"
in 6 reviews
"barracuda"
in 3 reviews
"albatross"
in 13 reviews
"boat"
in 16 reviews
"dolphins"
in 7 reviews
"captain"
in 3 reviews
"dozen"
in 2 reviews
"adventure"
in 2 reviews
"seal"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great morning fishing trip with Mark and Peter. They were great company, very knowledgable, and knew the spots for some great fishing and crays.
Would definitely recommend this charter company and I look forward to going out again next time.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank JohnO4378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Mark and Peter are very nice, friendly, helpful and professional. We wrote many email to them before this trip, they replied prompt every time, and warmly answer our questions, provided their suggestions. During fishing trip, we saw a lots of dolphins, which more than Black Cat Cruises trip in Akaroa.
We hope to fishing next time with Mark and Peter.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Joy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We were looked after by Mark and Peter. They have been very very friendly and thoughtful. I have been to many fishing trips and most of them were quite messy, smelly and troublesome. I would say Fish Kaikoura boat is the cleanest and most organised. Mark and Peter made everything easy for us and we really only need to enjoy all the good things of fishing.

My friend shared that before trip with Mark, her experience with fishing was not so good. However this trip totally changed her view. Mark was knowledgeable and informative about local wild life. We were lucky to encounter different kinds of albatrosses. We soon had 3 crayfish to take home and 12 fish including bluecod. Mark filleted fish for us and carefully washed them with sea water many times from both sides of the boat to ensure they were clean enough for us (really appreciate the subtlety). They also provided cooking tips for us. Because of my seasickness we had to go home earlier but this does not reduce the fun.

We made really awesome meal with the fish for 2 days and it was the best experience ever.

My friend has been happily talking about her experience with Mark and Peter to many people and we consider us very lucky to be looked after by them. Hope we can be looked after by you guys again :)

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank VictoriaWang0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My wife and I recently took a fishing charter on “Fish Kaikoura” with Mark and his brother, Peter. Two others were also with us. It was winter (early August 2017) and the wind was quite strong so the water was a bit choppy. Mark expertly guided us to several fishing sites and we caught enough fish for a great dinner. We also caught a dozen or so crayfish but most of them had eggs and had to be thrown back. But we could keep one that turned out to be more than enough for my wife and me. We had a wonderful dinner the next evening at the Koura Bay Lodge. The chef cooked our fish and crayfish for us and they charged a modest fee. It was a great evening that topped off a very nice holiday.
You can’t go wrong with Mark and Peter. They are excellent captains and charming hosts and will do their best to make your adventure a memorable experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank Floyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Kaikoura also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fish Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing