We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite backpackers so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My favourite backpackers so far”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. It was nearly fully booked when we booked so we had to stay in 3 separate rooms, in a double ensuite, a double, and a twin. I really loved the double ensuite and the double which are in the main house (the same place as the dorm rooms). All of these rooms seemed great. It is a very quiet backpackers. It is in a great location, up a very short hill only 4 mins walk from the I-Site. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. There is a free hot tub with an amazing view of the mountains. There is a beautiful and relaxing garden. There is a friendly cat. The kitchen is well equipped with enough space for numerous people to cook at the same time. The kitchen and whole place is kept very clean, Bike hire is the cheapest I have come across in New Zealand and the bikes are in good condition. The only downside I had was the twin room, which is the only room that is not in the main building (it is in a sort of garage out back). Some people might like it as it is extra private, however it is a separate building. The walk to the toilet takes max 40 seconds, of which about 5 seconds are outside without any protection from the rain. For a normal person this is probably fine. For me (6 months pregnant and going to the bathroom frequently at night) it was rather inconvenient as it meant i had to get fully dressed with shoes/raincoat to go out into the rain (allbeit for only 5 seconds) to head through to the toilet in the main building. For everyone I'd very highly recommend the doubles or dorms. For people who don't go to the bathroom much during the night the twin would also be fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    53
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
40
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed two nights, this place is chilled and out the way! Great friendly staff with great views of the mountains and sea!
Oh yeah and a lovely spa in the back garden for free!
If you like a chilled place with great people come here! Facilities are nice and clean. The place is cleaned daily and it shows!
The place is just off the main street and right near the info centre!

Lee & Sarah

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hecticlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Well don't know how to described this beautiful Dolphin Lodge in Kaikura...travelers on the road were talking about this lovely lodge so i decided to walk up hill and then Bev & Paul welcome to me with a big smile!!
i was planning to stay just 2 night but i stayed almost 2 weeks!...i fell in love with this place & the managers were so friendly and helpful all the time.
good price,very clean,hot showers,great location,close to the i-site,amazing view of the sea and good information of things to do and see.
i tried the Hot Tub so many times sorry amigos :) with more travelers drinking good kiwi wine.
so good trekking around the peninsula!
if you have a chance grab a cold beer at the Whaler Pub...just around the corner down hill is a nice little chapel.
Bev surf up!! Paul tks for the ride to ChCh!! hope you have enjoyed the beer i left in the trunk for u guys.
cheers> betour (the mexicanadian)

Room Tip: dorms are very clean and comfy....and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Bev and Paul really made me feel at home from the word go. I'd been travelling with magic and much like many of the people who I met here, I was trying to escape the 18-30 tourists by staying here. I myself am 22 and this was a lovely breath of fresh air. Roaring log fire, lots of magazines and plenty of space to sprawl. Fantastic, thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishbash22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Really nice homely hostel, lovely view great location. But our room was so cold, and you only get one hour of heating at a time, they do not provide quilts, just a very thin blanket which didnt do much. Really nice couple that owned the place and would reccommend but only for the summer!

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KellyBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.5 km away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.5 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
184 reviews
0.2 km away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lodge Backpackers

Property: Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Address: 15 Deal Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price range (per night): $39 - $64
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Lodge Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Dolphin Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing