We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
37
17
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
17
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet location self contained across the road the kitchen laundry facilities cabin accommodation kitchenette motel wifi sofa
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We have stayed here twice, once on our first trip to NZ then again when we returned a few years later and both times it was wonderful. The accommodation is really good, very clean and with some great scenery just down the drive! Hope all is well re the earthquake.

Room Tip: We love cottage number 5
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Valehypnotherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gus C, Owner at Bay Cottages Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your kind words. The earthquake has shaken us but we are still standing. The motel has no damage. We are now waiting for water and other services to be re-connected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Nice, quiet location on the South Bay, over the hill from the main tourist hot spot. Easy access with comprehensive facilities (e.g. linen, well equipped kitchen). Comfortable, with everything the four of us needed. We arrived later than expected, but this was not an issue, Graeme was friendly and helpful. The South Bay in the early morning is delightful and the town is a 30-40 minute walk over the hill, or five minutes by car.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank steven443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This accommodation is sited in South Bay just over the hill from the Main Town centre. The managers are friendly and pleasant.
The rooms are spacious and have the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in.
The name Bay Cottages reflects that they are more of a cottage than a Motel as you need to take your own shampoo, coffee, tea etc. The TV is small for the size of the room and does not have Sky TV. South Bay is a nice spot to go for a walk along the foreshore and around the Marina only a very short walk away. A couple of walking tracks will also get you over the hill to Kaikoura.

Room Tip: The rooms are behind the main house so the views are limited but if you get the unit that faces down the drive you can see the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arr0w123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Stayed here a second time because we love the place, both South Bay and the motel or cottages. Fortunately the weather was perfect with lovely sunsets. The cottage we stayed in looked straight down to the sea. It was very comfortable with everything we needed and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. If we travel to South Island again we shall make every effort to include this destination on our trip. Love it.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different cottages. Possible the one facing the sea is better.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Large room, clean, full kitchen facilities, great bed, good shower. Away from the touristy downtown. Just steps from the beach. Well, maybe 300 and across the street, but it is close. However, walking to town is a LONG walk, but doable for a great lunch.. Graeme is an excellent host. Bring the family. Laundry facilities available.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the private deck.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews