We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
USD 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Morph Heritage Collection(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
USD 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
USD 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Factory(Kaikoura)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairways(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koura Bay Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
37
17
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
17
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadthe kitchenunitaccommodationmotelwifi
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Greeted by owners when we arrived with a friendly chat. Units very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Nice area to sit out at picnic tables or bbq. So quiet at night, no road traffic noise at all. A little bit out of town, probably not walking distance, but worth it for the quiet location. Jan and Graeme very hospitable.

Room Tip: Could not see a problem with any
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripper128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Rooms are spacious, clean and basic. Location isn't great if you're on foot but no problem with a rental car.

I was upgraded in order to get a mountain view, which was unexpected but nice, nonetheless. Unfortunately the weather was so bad I only saw the mountain on departure! Be mindful that the free wifi is not available in your room but in the garden of the owner's house. Not an issue on warm sunny day, but is definitely a problem in torrential rain when you're relying on the internet to plan your trip.

There's no complimentary 'anything' - you really get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicscapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayCottages29, Manager at Bay Cottages Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hi, WIFI for all cottages is in our forward plan for 2014, so soon there'll be high speed internet available from the comfort of your cottage! Thanks for taking time out to review. Jan & Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The cottages are very clean and spacious in a lovely pace in the south bay of kaikoura , only 2km far from the city center.
If you are lucky, as we were , the owner will invite you to catch crayfish and after that to eat it with him . Wonderful experience

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Kaikoura itself is very touristic. So we chose to stay in the quieter South Bay (a tip from Lonely Planet). The accommodation is located in a normal resident area, there are no other motels around. The cottage complex is small, 5 Cottages and 2 motel units are very near to each other. The motel unit itself was very spacious but seemed a bit “basic” without any private decoration we experienced and liked so much in other accommodations we visited on our South Island trip. The king size bed was very good and the unit had everything we needed. The free WIFI worked only next to the main house. Graeme recommended to do the walk along Kaikoura Peninsula’s coastline which is only possible when the tide is low. We walked throw a seals colony – an amazing experience! The peninsula’s landscape is spectacular – it was a beautiful day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Spent a night here at Bay Cottages and we were pleasantly surprised at how peaceful and beautiful this place is. Situated along South Bay Parade away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre (which is only a couple of minutes drive away), the view from the front of the establishment is breathtaking! Our host, Graeme was very hospitable and the first thing he asked upon showing us our room was whether he could help us with anything or getting around the area. He was always approachable and always ready to help whenever needed! An excellent and unforgettable experience for us!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews