We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome and a good room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hokitika Heritage Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hokitika B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and a good room”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A very pleasant stay. If you are traveling from Arthur's Pass to Franz Josef and don't want to spend all day on the road and miss the chance to do a little hiking en route, then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDW46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We wish you the very best wishes and safe traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We arrived in Hokitika after a long drive over Arthur's Pass so we were tired. Chris and Dianne gave us a fantastic welcome and refreshed us with a much needed cup of tea and freshly baked cake. Our room was particularly attractive and well furnished in shades of blue with magnificent views over their garden (lots of interesting birds) to the sea. We were invited to relax in the lounge of their beautiful home where they were happy to give us all sorts of information about the area including a short walk nearby to see glow worms. Chris recommended a place for dinner and afterwards we strolled to the beach to see the driftwood sculptures before going to see the glow worms - well worth the effort. Breakfast was huge (as seems to be usual with homestays, but I'm not complaining!) and beautifully prepared.

Room Tip: We loved the blue room on the ground floor, but I think the gold room upstairs was probably a good o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDW46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to do this. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us as we did having you to stay. Kind regards. Chris and Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were only staying for one night on our way from Fox Glacier to Abel Tasman, in order to drive over some of Arthur's Pass, but like so many of the B & Bs we stayed at, Chris and Dianne made this short stay a real pleasure. Dianne is a busy teacher so we were welcomed initially by Chris who made a reservation for us at a lovely restaurant in the town; the jade capital of New Zealand. Dianne and Chris were great hosts and the Heritage room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Although we must have seen wekas earlier on our trip, seeing two racing around the lawn was extremely amusing; though Chris was not so amused as they had a habit of dragging away his gumboots.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDW46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. After 17 years of hosting people we still, very much, enjoy the time we spend with guests.
Yes the wekas still move my gumboots!!
Chris and Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Lesley welcomed us with tea and cake when we arrived and Chris cooked a delicious breakfast the next morning. The lodge was lovely and our room, with en suite, was beautifully furnished to a very high standard. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed more. A great place to stay in Hokitika and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDW46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review. Dianne and I appreciate feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

In early 2007 we visited New Zealand on a true 'Trip of a Lifetime' with the intention of touring both islands in three weeks!
Needless to say we soon amended our plans and decided to cover only the South Island and take more time out to see some places in detail.  Our trip took us from Christchurch to Queenstown across the island and up the West Coast by way of Mt. Cook to Hokitika.
I mention all of this because this happened over five years ago.  We travelled for over three weeks staying in various standards of accommodation in various places.  After all this time however I can honestly say the one place that has remained in our thoughts with such affection has been The Hokitika Heritage Lodge.
Following a recent trip I have now joined Trip Advisor and accordingly feel compelled to write of what a great experience we had here.  With such a superb atmosphere and with personal trips out to see the fireflies of an evening we promised ourselves we would return to this delightful place again one day.
Chris and Diane were fantastic hosts and now, having read what more recent guests have said, I realise we were not afforded any exceptional service, this is service given to all guests.  Few establishments get the kind of reviews that are mentioned here and I cannot recommend this accommodation more highly.  We will certainly return one day, and one day soon I hope!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoshSod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDW46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back if you are able to re-visit NZ and the West Coast! Same (or better) service will be continued!!
All the best, kind regards, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
1.9 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
1.6 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
1.1 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
1.5 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
154 reviews
1.5 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokitika Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokitika Heritage Lodge

Property: Hokitika Heritage Lodge
Address: 46 Alpine View, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price range (per night): $182 - $234
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hokitika Heritage Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast operating from Bank House. There are 2 superb bedrooms with their own en-suites, with king or queen beds, tea and coffee making, views to the sea and mountains, free wireless internet, full or continental breakfast. Use of guest lounge to relax and enjoy the views. Welcoming snacks and drinks on arrival and help with planning your activities while you are here or your onward travel arrangements. Complimentary pre-dinner drinks offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hokitika Heritage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing