We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for one night in December 2011. We stayed overnight before catching the train back to Christchurch. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and had everything that we needed. The host was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Located a little way from Greymouth centre, on the main road. Quiet, had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Gables Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 287 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

The Gables Motor Lodge is a good quality motel where you find everything you need to spend a comfortable night while on the road but where you would not want necessarily to stay for a longer period. On the plus side, the bed was comfy, the shower was nice, everything was sparkling clean and free internet is provided. On the minus side, the room was not very large and would have benefited from a warmer decoration. In particular, the lighting of the room was anything but cozy. In addition the long table against the wall which also serves as a stand for the TV and desk is too low. I could hardly slide my knees under it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Well appointed neat and tidy motel on the main road from the South and Arthurs Pass. This was our last but one stop on our 49 day trip. The standards have been exceptional, Gables did not disapoint. Bright, Clean and well presented.the room not over large but had everthing we needed. Reception was efficent and friendly. A nice touch was checking to see if we had settled in or needed any assistance. Advised us to visit Pancake Rocks straight away to get the high tide instead of leaving it till the morning and helped us with eating options, we did and enjoyed the spectacle, sadly for me at the expence of a trip around Monthiets Brewery, but it did free up time to enjoy a more relaxed trip over Arthurs Pass the next day. A bit out of town to walk but a very nice if not spectacular motel, would use it again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Nothing flash, a nice little motor lodge, not too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The pictures did not do this motel justice. Very easy to find on the main road into town. Close to restaurants and much to the delight of our children across the road from the Swimming Pool and Hydro slides. The kitchen was well appointed and we managed both dinner and breakfast easily. The two bedroom room was very spacious and the whole room was very clean. (Mints and choc's made our after dinner coffee just that little bit special). The staff were very friendly and more than happy to answer questions about the nearby pool and Shanty Town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.5 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
1.6 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
472 reviews
6.2 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
308 reviews
0.2 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
346 reviews
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Greymouth

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing