We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge

B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Having previously stayed at 2 more expensive 'hotels' in Wanganui which were very average experiences I was not holding out much hope for another stay in the town. However this motel was fantastic. The welcome from the owner was fantastic and genuine. I was given a great studio room which exceed my expecations. It was a generous studio with good kitchenette and the bonus was a spa bath. The decor is very good and the room was spotless. The little extra's are a nice touch (good toileteries, some lollies and a small selection of drinks/snacks. Thanks for a wonderful stay and I will highly recommend the motel to work colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carleen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Motor Lodge is stituated 1 block of main street,so very handy but it is surprisingly quiet. Only heard 1 police siren in the very early hours, but that can be heard in any main town.
Supermarket, Petrol stations and fast food places are very close by. Plus the main downtown area.
Room was clean, 2 recliner chairs,room is not large but adequate,tea, coffee, microwave etc. spa bath with extra towels. Owners were extremely nice and friendly.
This is third BK's motor lodge we have stayed at and they are a franchise, and all have been comfortable so far.
We had a meal at the local club - St Johns on the corner of Glasgow Street, where you can go even if your not a member, and the meals are very reasonable. Mains for adults ranged from $13.50 upto $20.00 approx. It is a club so meals are not fancy but are satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

My husband and I were visiting New Zealand, from Canada, on a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We stayed at B-K's Magnolia Motor Lodge for one night and found it to be in a nice quiet area, and within walking distance to the restaurants.
The room was clean and spacious. The owners, Brian and Kathy were very kind and helpful.

We were surprised when we walked downtown for dinner to find that the entire downtown shuts right down and only a handful of restaurants are open. Although, as we travelled further throughout New Zealand, we found this to be quite normal. The restaurant we did go to, recommended by Brian and Kathy, was very good and the food was excellent. The lamb was fantastic. The name of the restaurant escapes me, but it wouldn't be hard to find, because it's one of the few that are open, near the motel.

We would recommend this motel to anyone who will be staying in Wanganui.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OConnorGoldwingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

This motel was nicely appointed with a small kitchen area and spa bath in the room.

The room itself was comfortable and quite clean.

However, Wanganui isn't the best for nightlife. When places say "open until late" for dinner, we found at 7:30 p.m. we were struggling to find food. Sadly, McDonnalds was the only option for "late" dining.

This was a nice stop for the night, but if you're looking for activities, drive past Wanganui. We knew this would just be a stop along the way, and it proved us right!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jakey450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2008

Clean, comfortable and friendly motel in a quiet location on the outskirts of Wanganui. Excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merseytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.0 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.6 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.7 km away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge

Property: B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Address: 240 St Hill Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
Price range (per night): $106 - $122
Hotel Class:4 star — B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Motel in the heart of Wanganui. 16 executive quality ground floor.Units serviced daily: studios sleep 1-3; 1 bedroom sleeps 2-4; access facilities available; interconnecting 2brm family units sleep up to 6. Tea/coffee/toast making facilities (cooking hobs in some), fridge, microwave, recliner lounge chairs, spa bath and/or shower, hair dryer, single/queen/king size beds, phone, wireless internet access, 3-channel Sky Digital TV, electric blankets, heating, air-conditioning in some units, iron/ironing board. Video, cot and highchair available. Room service, cooked/continental breakfast, complimentary laundry, off-street parking.Within 400m of sports facilities, restaurants, bars, fast food outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ks Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing