We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
48
64
31
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
64
31
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish pub continental breakfast one night old style new zealand boxing day lovely night good sized bathroom up to date friendly service great value for money nice stay tea and coffee short stay lamb shank night stay off street parking
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

There wasn't anything we liked about this hotel !!
Awful, never again. The rooms need updating,, cold, the bathroom light didn't work, towel rail was on the floor, the towels were not pure white! To keep the wall paper up stickers were applied, we couldnt bring ourselves to taking our shoes off!!! The carpets down the hall way we're threadbare, I could go on..... very disappointed. If we hadn't done the miles we had that day we would have moved on, and also having a young child just wasn't possible.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AmandaCook2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Never had a meal here before but it is really worth a visit.
We went for lunch so it was in the bar but quite comfortable and warm on a very cold day.
We had the Porerhouse Steak with salad and a Fishermans Basket. Both were very generous serves, nice and hot and fresh.
The service was prompt and the people very friendly.
The total bill was $54 with two beers.
Parking is very easy around the streets with no charge.
We would certainly return

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KimB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

HI THERE
Thank you so much for the kind words. it is always great to hear that guests enjoy the food and ambiance.
We hope to see you soon again.
Warm Regards
Werner Lamprecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This Hotel reeks of history; the wood finishing is very fine, especially in the Bar area as other patrons have remarked, and the restoration effort has been sensitively handled overall. The nightly rates are reasonable and the breakfast in Breaker's hearty and good old fashioned Kiwi in character.

Room Tip: The second floor is fine.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This is the second time we have taken a large group to the Grand Hotel - both times we have been really well looked after! The food is good and the staff are great plus they let us use a room for our evening games. Great value for money too! I would definitely recommend this hotel. We are planning a third visit later this year.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ELTOP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi there
Thank you so much for the kind words. It is always great to host you guys. We look forward to seeing you in October for your next visit.

Warm Regards
Werner Lamprecht
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Charming, beautiful old Hotel.Lots of character and Characters, especially in the bar!
Food and service in the bar was really good.
We found our room a little underwhelming with an interesting electrical set up but for a short stay it was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time top write a review its always nice to hear guests enjoyed their stay we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews