We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the beer was cold”

The Coach House Puriri
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in Thames
Price range: USD 7 - USD 17
Description: Country Hotel with upgraded French/country style dining room and lounge opening onto large outdoor decks, large garden and playground (dog friendly). Also a bistro bar with weekly events ie: quiz, bingo and pool nights with a warm friendly atmosphere for locals and visitors to enjoy. Upgraded accommodation upstairs sleeps up to 13 people, ideal for families or groups. This iconic 1881 Hotel is the centre of the Puriri township approximately 14kms from Thames and 20kms from Paeroa.
Restaurant details
Description: Country Hotel with upgraded French/country style dining room and lounge opening onto large outdoor decks, large garden and playground (dog friendly). Also a bistro bar with weekly events ie: quiz, bingo and pool nights with a warm friendly atmosphere for locals and visitors to enjoy. Upgraded accommodation upstairs sleeps up to 13 people, ideal for families or groups. This iconic 1881 Hotel is the centre of the Puriri township approximately 14kms from Thames and 20kms from Paeroa.
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Having had Lovely meals here in the past we were very disappointed with the burgers we had today. $15 for a gourmet steak burger and chips....thin piece of steak, lettuce, 1 slice of tomato, tomato sauce and some onion relish...partners Hawaiian burger ($8 - no chips) didn't look much more appealing. Beer was nice and cold, service was good but we won't be rushing back again anytime soon for a meal

1  Thank Stormy294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C, Owner at The Coach House Puriri, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

So sorry you were disappointed however I cannot understand why you would give a one star review when your complaint was seemingly based on lack of filling of a burger...i would assume you & Your partner ate the burgers and i would like to know if they were tasty? You mentioned good service & cold beer does that warrant or reflect a one star review? All our standard burgers are $8 and for obvious reasons Steak burgers are more expensive...Im sure you were given the opportunity to give your feedback when you were at the Coach house to enable us to remedy the problem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stopped in here when we were riding the Hauraki Rail Trail - although it was way past lunch time and too early for dinner, Sharon (the owner) said we could still have anything on the menu. The food was delicious. Luscious prawns and a Vegetable Stack picked fresh from their garden. We sat outside on the deck overlooking the playground - with the cute goats in the paddock next door - a great place for families and people riding the rail trail

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C, Owner at The Coach House Puriri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thank you Kathy it was a pleasure having you here...see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Thanks Sharon for arranging our meal in advance, we know it was a busy day for you with your move. The calamari and prawns were delicious and we even ordered another portion of the calamari as it was so good! Your waitress was lovely and friendly and our dog appreciated her treats! The only negative was the price of a house sav. $9 for a small glass of Five Flax didn't sit well. Don't mind paying that for a boutique wine or something more upmarket, but not Five Flax! A handle of Carlsberg was also a bit of a hefty price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzi0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C, Owner at The Coach House Puriri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback & I am pleased you enjoyed the food...point taken in regards to the wine, we do have TIKI wine which is lovely & very popular & the Carlsberg was RRP so I'm not sure if anyone else is charging less but I will certainly look into that. ..thank you again...feel free to let me know your in next time as we like to offer anyone placing a review a complimentary refreshmenthe. .have a great day..only 3 more days & we will be living at the Coach house! !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

A good place for the whole family to go. Sit inside or outside and get served by the friendly staff. The food tastes really good.

Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had booked a table for an end of year get together after hearing good things about this pub. We weren't disappointed; the food was great. We started with the cheese-ball platter to share between 4. There was plenty and it was delicious. As well as the cheese-ball there were 2 pestos, oil and Balsamic, dukka, bread and crackers. Almost good enough to eat for a main.

I followed with the whisky smoked salmon which had to be the best salmon dish I've eaten. The promising smell of wood-smoke translated well into the taste and this was a truly memorable meal. Served with potato gratin and salad, it was rich and delectable.

Prices are reasonable too. The only drawback was the noise from the patrons at the bar as we were not seated in the restaurant but in the booths behind the public bar. Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 55vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House Puriri also viewed

Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Coach House Puriri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing