We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rolleston Motel(Thames)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 107
USD 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold Cottage(Thames)(Great Value!)
USD 108
USD 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miranda Holiday Park(Thames)(Great Value!)
USD 114
USD 69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grafton Cottage and Chalets(Thames)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
13
18
6
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
18
6
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here one night, very clean and tidy, just a room with a king size bed, very comfortable. Clean ensuite with good shower. Very polite and helpful staff. Great cold tap beer in the afternoon and great meal in the restaurant at night. Overall we were impressed by the whole experience. If you just want a bed for the night and s good meal look no further.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikiebrunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Mikie brunton,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay.. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thames!!!

Best Regards,
Daljeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Called here on a recommendation, this was our first mistake, the second was staying.
The room was adequate, very small shower room, large bed with too many covers pillows pads and all sorts of bits and bobs.
The impression I got was that my presence was tolerated, but our esteemed host gave he impression that any one non-Sikh was a second class citizen.

Going into the bar I felt like John Wayne in Rio Bravo, every head swivelled.

I will nor return

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Didn't have anywhere booked and ended up at the imperial, the staff where very helpful and had great food in the restuarant and bar man was very helpful and made us feel comfortable. The gentleman at front desk ( didn't get his name) was more than happy to help us get bags to room, sadly only had 2 beds left with no bathroom and had to share the bathroom down corridor which was very clean, plus a kitchen but we didn't use as looked bit dirty. Beds where very comfy, room was small and hot but clean. Downside could hear next door talking, but on whole was a nice place for just a night and good rate

Room Tip: Book in advance if want ensuite.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Angela C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay.. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thames!!!

Best Regards,
Daljeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Had a meal at the newly refurbished restaurant on Friday night. Never again. The sole waitress appeared to want to be anywhere else but working. She tried her best at times but having three tables to serve seemed all a bit much. Ordered the sirloin steak with veges. Yes well what can we say. After a long wait it came out as a pile of cold hard thick mashed potato with overcooked hard presumably kumera chip things sitting between it and a slab of grisly steak.. This was again topped with a lot of overcooked capsicum, snow peas and bean sprouts. Very unappetising and the taste of dry,hard mashed potato stayed with us for many hours afterwards. You have done a lovely job of renovating the restaurant and made it appealing, Shame your actual meals and service do not live up in anyway to the surroundings. Being locals we thought we would "give it a try' in future we will be dining elsewhere and will definitely not recommending the Impy to any of our friends

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

I really enjoyed the stay. Our room (with a queen size bed) was well presented, fresh and clean. This was the same for our friends room and although they needed to share the toilet and showers, they also were clean and well kept.

We decided to take our son at the last minute and although they were going to provide just a mattress, they provided a bed instead which was more than we expected.

Our bed was very comfortable with our friends saying the same for there's.

Upon arriving we were warmly greeted by the manager (DJ) whom was informative and welcoming. I got the sense that it is very much a family business whom take pride with making people feel welcomed.

It's very central and surrounded by lot of cafes and shops that are just a short stroll.

I also found the price to be more than reasonable.

Would I stay again? We are already planning our next trip for a longer stay where we can explore more of what Thames has to offer with the Hotel Imperial being part of that experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Heta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay.. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thames!!!

Best Regards,
Daljeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews