We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“very nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

had a great stay here, room was clean and very comfy, kitchen was well stocked, ticked all the boxs will stay again, i found the lady at the desk to be friendly and helpful but i suppose some people have trouble interacting with people

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    8
    9
    24
See reviews for
3
27
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Visited during our 30 day stay in N.Z, it was our first time. We hired a car which was excellent and good value. The hotel was clean and tidy in the rooms we looked at.
As for some of the previous comments I must dissagree. The welcome was warm, polite and freindly. While we were doing the paperwork the lady made us tea. The bathrooms were clean, so I really dont understand the other negative comments. The place is ideally located for Thames and surrounding areas for touristy types. Perhaps some of the moaners just wanted to use the facilities for free and decided to write bad reviews becuase they could not. I would like to say thank you for helping to make our first visit to N.Z a wonderful experience. Fred and Peter

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

My partner and I have stayed here twice over the past few years. We love coming back to an excellent Backpackers facilitiy, central to all the attactions of the Coromandel. Friendly and helpful staff really do make all the difference (thanks Cheryl & Craig). Having travelled throughout Europe for over 4 years its so good to see such a superb backpackers that really does go the extra mile to look after their visitors.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexJesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I found this backpacker lodge to be a comfortable place to stay BUT it needs new owners. The welcome I got when I arrived was " How many other people are in your van outside, how many people are going to sneek into your room later without paying" That blew me away. Also the people behind the desk were in general just unhelpfulnot interested in helping with directions or anything. When I asked for directions they said to go to the information centre which is the other side of town and not in the direction I was travelling. Apart from this it's not a bad place to stay as long as you can put up with rude people at the desk.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johnathanbeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thames hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

have to concur with the majority of other reviewers of this place; the building and facilties are great, room fantastic, everything pretty much spotless, but the owners certainly leave you scratching your head wondering why they run a backpackers when they so clearly hate backpackers and dealing with the public. Real shame, as if not for the grumpy/rude management making you feel like naughty schoolkids, this place would be wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HannahCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2.2 km away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.9 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 km away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#35 of 51 in Coromandel Peninsula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 13 in Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
19.6 km away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Property: Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
Address: 506 Brown Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand (Formerly Sunkist International Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Thames
Price range (per night): $83 - $95
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, Bike n Hike. Our 1860's Heritage Bed n Breakfast offers a clean and relaxing environment in our own part of the Thames Goldrush History. Catering for the established traveller looking for a relaxing place to stay. Clean and Quiet makes for a great nights sleep between your adventures. A great base for Couples or groups wanting to explore the Coromandel Peninsula and starting point for the Hauraki Rail Trail and the Kauaeranga Valley for those wanting to hike the Pinnacles. The building is an 1860s heritage kauri hotel, now restored and modernized to provide quality accommodation with many home comforts. We do not offer camping or freedom camping facilities of any kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing