We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab Service the best you can find”
Review of Big Five Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Five Motel
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ab Fab Service the best you can find”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed at Big Five twice now and will be back in Dec it was the best stay ever. Friendly owners and very accomodating. First time we stayed they offered to take us to the start of a marathon, and did our washing after the marathon that is service you cant beat.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated in animal themes is hard to choose a room as they are all airy and clean wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
13
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My family stayed at Big Five overnight and it was a v good experience. Room was v clean, tidy, stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was also good. Bed was v comfortable. Would recommend this motel to all.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My daughter and I have stayed at the Big Five Motel for the last 3 years while attending dancing comps in Palmerston North. Jenni and Bruce are fantastic hosts who go out of their way to make sure we are comfortable and have everything we need. The older units have recently been upgraded to the same high standard as the new part and are awesome. Big Five is reasonably priced, easy to find, literally five mins from the square and very quiet. Just what you need at the end of a hard days dancing. We'll definately be back again next year.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

On behalf of Burns & Ferrall I would like to congratulate you on running a great Motel, As you are aware myself and seven of my staff recently stayed for the Foodstuffs Expo and we were all very impressed with the level of accommodation and the friendly service, the Expo is a tiring event but knowing we had great accommodation with excellent Hosts made the whole week more enjoyable.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed at the Big Five for 4 nights, for a wedding event near by and this is a great little boutique style motel. The owner/managment are very nice and helpful. The location is great for the downtown / schools / business / dining out. (walking or short drive)
Many room styles to suit a single to families.
Thanks, I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
It was our pleasure to host you and the rest of the wedding party.
We look forward to hosting you when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.4 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.9 km away
The Villas
The Villas
#21 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.2 km away
Drovers Motor Inn
Drovers Motor Inn
#11 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Kiwi Studios Motel
Kiwi Studios Motel
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 km away
Rose City Motel
Rose City Motel
#4 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.4 km away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Five Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Five Motel

Property: Big Five Motel
Address: 154 Park Road, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Settlers Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price range (per night): $111 - $145
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Five Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Five Motel is situated in a quiet location off the main street of Palmerston North yet still within walking distance of most civic amenities. If you are looking for great accommodation at affordable rates with friendly service, our motel is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Five Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Five Motel Palmerston North, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing