We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Five Motel
Nearby Hotels
USD 120*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
USD 100*
USD 83*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
USD 103*
USD 95*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 113*
USD 95*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
USD 121*
USD 112*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Studios Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
USD 85*
USD 79*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drovers Motor Inn(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
USD 95*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston North Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
39
22
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
22
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig parkone nightat short noticefriendly ownersa great place to staytwo nightsgreat value for moneycentre of townwithin walking distancebedroomunitsmotelhostspalmy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My family stayed at Big Five overnight and it was a v good experience. Room was v clean, tidy, stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was also good. Bed was v comfortable. Would recommend this motel to all.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My daughter and I have stayed at the Big Five Motel for the last 3 years while attending dancing comps in Palmerston North. Jenni and Bruce are fantastic hosts who go out of their way to make sure we are comfortable and have everything we need. The older units have recently been upgraded to the same high standard as the new part and are awesome. Big Five is reasonably priced, easy to find, literally five mins from the square and very quiet. Just what you need at the end of a hard days dancing. We'll definately be back again next year.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

On behalf of Burns & Ferrall I would like to congratulate you on running a great Motel, As you are aware myself and seven of my staff recently stayed for the Foodstuffs Expo and we were all very impressed with the level of accommodation and the friendly service, the Expo is a tiring event but knowing we had great accommodation with excellent Hosts made the whole week more enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed at the Big Five for 4 nights, for a wedding event near by and this is a great little boutique style motel. The owner/managment are very nice and helpful. The location is great for the downtown / schools / business / dining out. (walking or short drive)
Many room styles to suit a single to families.
Thanks, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

It was our pleasure to host you and the rest of the wedding party.
We look forward to hosting you when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I am with Wellington SPCA Animal Rescue Unit (www.aru.org.nz).

We have been training with Massey University and needed some pet-friendly accommodation as we brought a dog with us. The dog is a family pet and was awesome to have him sleep in the same room with us.

The management sorted out the nice BBQ area for us at short notice, allowing the team to relax for a couple of hours in a nice setting.

Great service and big supporters of SPCA.

A big thanks to the owners and staff!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_Blair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2011

It was great hosting you guys.Come stay again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews