We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesant Stay at the resort but a little disturbed by rude neighbours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margarets Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Plesant Stay at the resort but a little disturbed by rude neighbours”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hi,
We are a family of 4 ( 2 adults, 1 toddler and 1 infant 18months old) and just got back from Perth 2 weeks ago. We stayed at your property for 3 nights and really like it . The property is clean and apartment is sufficiently furnished with the basic necessities. We were give the upper deck room 2 bedroom during our stay. We arrived after hours and the keys to our apartment were placed in the security box as promised.

The children enjoyed the stay there except being rather annoyed by a neighbor who stayed directly one deck down. He described the kids running around the apartment ( even at the carpet area) like elephants stomping around. He even came up twice to warn us and in the second instance banged hard at the door like a hooligan.

Well, except for this, the stay was a memorable one :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeHan_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, my apologies for the interruption to your stay by another guest.
We do not condone other guests taking matters into their own hands. We do hope you will return to our resort when back in Western Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    229
    79
    20
    11
See reviews for
151
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A pleasent drive from Perth taking around 4 hrs stopping once along the way... We stayed 2 nights during the off peak season... A well equipped unit with bath/DVD player and a modern TV.. Great views of the beach and a fantastic sunset from your balcony.... A well equipped kitchen which we used for out evening meals....Good beds,great heating and quiet for the duration of our stay. Upstairs is the better option...

Room Tip: Upstairs is the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carerontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Delighted to receive your comments, thanks very much for taking the time to submit them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Studio Apartment during June 2012.
Being Kiwi's we didn't realize our planned trip to Margaret River coincided with Foundation Day long weekend so only really ended up at this hotel because it was some of the only available accommodation we could still find.
We did wonder where the heck we were going when we arrived on nightfall and ended up driving though all the Nov 2011 brushfire remains but when we woke up the next dy found Prevelly Beach to be a beautiful spot and within 10 mins drive from Margaret River township.
We were pleased with the facilities and it definitely provided all we needed in terms of a kitchen, comfortable bed and laundry facilities.
The only downside would be the bathroom toilet needs replacement as the flush buttons get stuck and water continually runs through the cistern...,also prefer a separate shower to the shower over bath provided.
This is good basic accommodation, it is not luxurious but does the job and I imagine would be a great spot for families.
We ate at the restuarant Gnarbar the first night and enjoyed the meal however chose to eat in Margaret River the second night.
We needed to use Wireless Internet which is a service you have to pay $10 for 4 hours however it was so slow we couldn't get onto the websites we needed so ended up complaining and getting this refunded on checkout.
A big thumbs up to the man who checked us in who provided good service and was very friendly. The only thing we found a bit weird was a knock on the door at 9.30 am the morning we were checking out to make sure we were on our way down to reception. We found this a bit rude given check out isn't until 10am and we only feel someone should be chasing you up after this time. It doesn't matter if they need the room we have paid until 10am.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thanks very much for your comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service! The issue with the toilet was reported to the maintainence team and has since been fixed. Apologies for our housekeeping staff disturbing you before checkout time – this was an error and is most definitely not our policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

name: Perhaps I didn't read the description thoroughly but I had figured I might at least get to see the beach albeit from a distance. On the road leading up to the beach there's shrubs fencing the roads so it's quite awhile before any sand is seen.
Rooms were well appointed, with a generously sized balcony perfect for alfresco dining. Clean beds and overall apartment was big. Furniture (sofa in particular) however, looked dated.
location: we ended up arriving at MR town around 6pm when it was already dark. battery had already drained on our smartphone and we were left without a gps. from the turnoff at Bussell highway, it was a daunting drive as the lane is narrow and meanders quite a bit and there were unidentifiable lanes (not in the physical road map we had) which necessitated us to stop and identify the roads at each junction. I recommend not arriving after sundown and without a GPS for first timers.
service:By the time we arrived at 650pm, it was pitch black and the reception had closed. There was a phone on the wall outside. As per instruction we called the manager for afterhours check in but noone picked up. We stood there for 5 minutes calling over and over in the near darkness (only source of light was 200m away which came from the bar). I made my way to the bar pleading for someone to sort us out. The bar staff were friendly, apologetic, pleasant but were not able to offer me more help aside from 'Manager normally picks up, he's probably showering, sorry, *shrug*'. I ran back to the phone and continued calling and still no answer. I made my way back to the bar again (only signs of human activity) and pleaded with the bar staff to help me out again as noone was picking up. I enquired if they had the personal number of the manager and it was no. I was quite distressed at this point. Fortunately there was a gentleman nearby who was observing me. He was waiting for his order which had yet to arrive and was also fighting for the bartenders attention. He overheard my predicament, told the bar staff he would help me out while they focused on getting his order soonest. He reassured me, followed me out of the bar where it was more quiet, whipped out his phone and called the manager on his personal mobile, explained the situation and the rest was smooth sailing after that. That guy really helped me out, I understand he was working at the surf shop nearby and he went out of his way. I'm really grateful to him. Went back later at night to try to buy him a beer but didn't see him around. HUGE thanks to him.
Though manager was helpful and we got access to our keys shortly after, a noted area for improvement would be for management to ensure the phone gets picked up afterhours.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leyonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thanks very much for your comments. We are careful to describe our property as 500 metres from Gnarabup Beach, you can however see and hear the ocean from many of our apartments. We are sorry to hear of your difficulty in finding the resort in the dark without your gps and with your afterhours check-in. Manager lives at the resort so our afterhours service is normally very efficient and reliable. We apologise for the delay in locating him on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I'd like to start off by stating how wonderful the staff were, over the top kindness and helpfulness was so lovely after a lot of our day was spent with snooty winery staff who treated us like smears on the soles of their shoes.
But the noise from the neighboring apartment was really hard to handle- we heard them in the spa- walking about and eventually snoring as though they were in our very same room! Hard one to combat, but a problem no less.
Lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, gorgeous beach views- paid $303 for the one night.
Again- have to give 10/10 to the staff here- really great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilyann79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeatMBR, Guest Relations Manager at Margarets Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
We pride ourselves on our guest service and were delighted to receive your comments about the staff – thank you! We do apologise for the noise from the neighbouring apartment and understand that this would impacted on your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
6.8 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
9.4 km away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
8.3 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
967 reviews
8.9 km away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
8.5 km away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Margaret River

Been to Margarets Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Beach Resort

Property: Margarets Beach Resort
Address: 1 Resort Pl | Gnarabup Beach, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#5 Family Hotel in Margaret River
#6 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price range (per night): $140 - $305
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Location Location Location ***Offering idyllic 4 star Margaret River Accommodation by the sea, Margarets Beach Resort is one of the best beach resorts in Western Australia (WA). It’s the perfect location for a romantic getaway or memorable family holiday in the renowned Margaret River Wine Region.Just 10 kilometres from Margaret River town, on WA’s spectacular South West Coast, and just 500 metres from pristine Gnarabup Beach, Margarets Beach Resort is the only resort accommodation by the sea.You can enjoy everything the Margaret River Wine Region has to offer, with easy access to the South West’s world-class wineries, caves, national parks, nature walk trails, surf breaks and other outstanding attractions and tours.The beach holiday resort offers a range of accommodation options for your Margaret River break. Choose from views to the magnificent coast, resort pool and gardens or the natural beauty of WA’s Naturaliste Ridge. And it’s just a short stroll to Gnarabup Beach, where you can enjoy the water playground or take in the stunning west coast sunsets.You’ll also benefit from a range of resort facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable.Relax, unwind and enjoy your Margaret River experience at Margarets Beach Resort.Includes Free WIFI. All our accommodation is Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Margarets Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Beach Hotel Margaret River
Margarets Beach Resort Margaret River, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing