We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok experience but wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margarets Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Forster, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok experience but wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were recommended to try this place due to the location, which is lovely. We were disappointed to find out room didn't have a balcony, just sliding doors with a rail straight across them. The rooms are clean but certainly not modern. Had trouble with the fans in the bathroom continually running.

Worse however was our first night. The walls are paper thin and anything outside just echo's so our neighbours with 3 kids under 2 were unfortunately very loud. We got no sleep the first night as we could hear the babies crying at all hours. We have children ourselves and understand about kids but it is not what you want on a romantic holiday.

Facilities were good and the food was nice. Might have been ok if we were on a family getaway but as a couple I found it not what we would like.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinityau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    230
    79
    20
    11
See reviews for
151
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Had a studio apartment for two nights. Make sure you book at the on site restaurant as it is great and gets packed. Rooms are standard, a bit dated but comfortable with everything you need for a short stay. Try and ask for a room with a sea View. Staff were really friendly. The beach is within walking distance, Margaret River townsite about a ten minute drive. You can walk along a timber boardwalk rather than along the beach, which is more shell grit than soft sand. Great for summer, not sure what it would be like in winter. We paid $225 per night, but were in the middle of high season and this was much cheaper that other resorts. Definitely a good place for a family stay if you want to chill out. Check in was simple, staff extra friendly adding to the atmosphere. There's a surf shop, bar, bistro and restaurant on site. We would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, preferably upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatung01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Check in staff were very helpful, room (studio) basic but had everything you could need. Resort is a bit dated but seems to have a really good atmosphere, not noisy althought there were lots of kids around as it was school holidays. the beach is in walking distance, and has a timber boardwalk if you want to wander further along. The sand is more like shell grit, not the fine sand you get at Eagle Bay further around the coast. There is no dock, so if you want music bring one. Overall quite reasonable value for an area that is so expensive during peak time, but at $225 per night not cheap. Great restaurant and bistro onsite. Margaret River townsite about 10 minutes drive, caves road and wineries a little more. Overall I would recommend this for a family holiday, not sure what it would be like in winter, but in summer it's good value with a great atmosphere and beach close by. Self contained, unseeviced ( unless you pay for extra services)

Room Tip: Our room had no view at all, I would ask for one in a better location if we come again, although at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kn2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I spent a couple of nights here. The 'resort' is more in the nature of a motel or self-contained (and unserviced) apartments but it is very nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a very good bar / restaurant and nice clean swimming pool. A beautiful beach is just 200 metres away with a useful cafe (named the White Elephant) but beware of the flies!!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank oxcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Paid $185 per night on webjet for a studio. We had room 201 which is at the very front of the complex so has the best sea views but the most traffic noise (despite being a small road it's the main one in the suburb so has slow but constant flow). Unlike the impression given on the resort's website, it's set in sand dunes on a road, a 5 minute walk to the beach. The onsite bar does not overlook the beach, unlike the photo on the website which is actually of the white elephant an unlicensed cafe on the beach. Liked the friendly helpful service, well equipt comfortable apartments and proximity to the beach. Didn't like the noise in the evenings from other guests or the price; it's not really what i would call a resort but more unserviced self contained apartments with a pool. If we could get a better price and quieter apartment we'd return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELtoUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
6.8 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
9.4 km away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
8.3 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
968 reviews
8.9 km away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
660 reviews
8.5 km away
Prideau's of Margaret River
Prideau's of Margaret River
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Margaret River

Been to Margarets Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Beach Resort

Property: Margarets Beach Resort
Address: 1 Resort Pl | Gnarabup Beach, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Margaret River
#5 Family Hotel in Margaret River
#6 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price range (per night): $141 - $307
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Location Location Location ***Offering idyllic 4 star Margaret River Accommodation by the sea, Margarets Beach Resort is one of the best beach resorts in Western Australia (WA). It’s the perfect location for a romantic getaway or memorable family holiday in the renowned Margaret River Wine Region.Just 10 kilometres from Margaret River town, on WA’s spectacular South West Coast, and just 500 metres from pristine Gnarabup Beach, Margarets Beach Resort is the only resort accommodation by the sea.You can enjoy everything the Margaret River Wine Region has to offer, with easy access to the South West’s world-class wineries, caves, national parks, nature walk trails, surf breaks and other outstanding attractions and tours.The beach holiday resort offers a range of accommodation options for your Margaret River break. Choose from views to the magnificent coast, resort pool and gardens or the natural beauty of WA’s Naturaliste Ridge. And it’s just a short stroll to Gnarabup Beach, where you can enjoy the water playground or take in the stunning west coast sunsets.You’ll also benefit from a range of resort facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable.Relax, unwind and enjoy your Margaret River experience at Margarets Beach Resort.Includes Free WIFI. All our accommodation is Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Margarets Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Beach Hotel Margaret River
Margarets Beach Resort Margaret River, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing