We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
320
135
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
135
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brew house modern bathroom friendly owners bbq area great place to stay electric blankets free wifi town centre fresh milk bbq facilities bussell highway margaret river area the main road min walk nice room quiet at night places to visit
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed 3 nights in the triple unit right at the back of the motel. It was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Bed was good. Loved the back garden and the seating area outside our room. Parking was really handy right by our room . Nice basket of breakfast items. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this accommodation to others.

Room tip: Triple room number 6.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janetann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you Janet for your review. So glad you enjoyed your accommodation and the daily continental breakfast basket included as you booked direct with us. Regards Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile



We truly enjoyed this motel a lot. Nothing fancy or posh but extremely clean and super nice beds with great showers! Room comes with dishes and fridge if you need. They even give you fresh milk or cream for your coffee for the next day. Every back room has its own outdoor private sitting area!Lady at the front desk told us everything about the area. What to do and what not to do. Very helpful tips. Walk to town is about 7minutes. Local brewery 3 minute walk away and they have pretty good food and nice beers! Nice morning walk thru the forest right behind the place. Back rooms are quieter as they are away from the highway. Free movies to take to your room. Lots of info about the area in the lobby . Great restaurant recommendations with some having discounts when booked thru the Motel! Would for sure return.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CTRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the "tips" were useful. Cheers Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

The unit was more of a master bedroom with an en suite. It was dark but did contained a bar fridge with milk but in order to make hot drinks water had to be sourced from the bathroom sink. We were given a single small complimentary shower gel, shampoo and body lotion for two people for three days which was insufficient. The towels weren't replaced daily which meant on subsequent days the towels were still wet from the day before.
I had read reviews that said this was a quiet place, perhaps it depends on the number of occupants because our room was anything but quiet. You could hear people coughing and sneezing in the room next door. People talking at all hours of the night and water running in the showers and toilets of adjoining rooms, not what we expected..

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lobourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Not sure why you were expecting a Unit, All websites describe our accommodation as a Motel Room, perhaps check more carefully what you are booking next time. All rooms have new lighting with dimmer switches, if you chose not to turn the lights up it would obviously be dark. The bathroom sink is about 4 steps from the kettle, so not sure why this would be a problem. When checking in you were shown a sign to use on your door for FREE HOUSEKEEING obviously you chose not to use. Your toiletries would have been replenished every day, plus there is a laminated sign in the Bathroom stating "place your towels on the floor for replacement", additionally, each day a "sorry we missed you" note from Housekeeping would have been left under the door mat outside your room. Reception is open between 8am & 7pm every day, so why did you not just pop down and ask for fresh towels and replacement toiletries, instead of being a martyr and suffering in silence until you get a chance to write a review, we are very friendly and approachable owners which is obvious throughout our reviews. Unfortunately the plumbing is a bit noisy, however most guests don't shower in the middle of the night and generally do not stay up being noisy at all ours of the night. We are genuinely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights while we explored Margaret River. The room and bed were lovely as was the bathroom. The shower worked well and we had good water pressure. The WiFi also worked well enough for email.
When we checked in, the front desk lady gave us lots of good information about things to see in the area. She even told us where the local laundromat is located.
Breakfast was delivered every morning - yogurt and milk and cereal.
There is a good brewery/restaurant right next door with a path across the back of the property.
We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you so much for your great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you if you are in the area again. Regards Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We stayed in the cottage and studio accommodation. Very clean and reasonably equipped. Found the studio very small with limited hanging space or room for cases etc. Bed not great and small. The cottage was nice with original features and the kitchen well equipped but no dishwasher which surprised us.
Owners friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the Brewhouse restaurant/bar which was located at the back of the property about 2 mins away.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank groupofeight014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you Steven for staying with us and for your positive comments regarding the Cottage. We are quite surprised ourselves by your comments regarding dishwasher & Studio Bed. We don't actually state there is a dishwasher, plus we state the Studio bed as a "double". Beds are tricky as everyone has a different preference for softness, hardness etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews