We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The bed was so comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
A nice touch was the book of local restaurants and discounts in the room. It's a shame We only had a short stay but we will definitely stay here again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jennye510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks so much Jenny, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

This is the 2nd year we have stayed in Edge of the Forest.
The apartment was very cosy and clean. We have great sleep each night despite the cold spring at 8 degree in the night. We love the trail walk each morning just behind the apartment!
Dennis and Alan were fantastic host! Ever ready to assist in many ways and in providing great tips on eatery and place of interest to visit. Will be back to Edge of the Forest again!

Room Tip: We love to have the garden facing room at the backyard. Love to have our breakfast there, enjoy hear...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LILY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you Lily, it was lovely to see you both again. Always a pleasure to give you tips on our wonderful region. See you next year. Regards Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed for two nights in order to explore the nearby vineyards, caves and lighthouse. The motel is in a great location (within walking distance of town and close to a lovely pub with live music and delicious food called The Brewhouse). The room was cosy during our winter stay with a heater and electric blankets. There was plenty of welcome and information during our check in and the room was neat and clean with a good bathroom. The breakfast basket in the room allowed us freedom and the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. It was completely adequate for our needs and we enjoyed our stay - good value. However, being next to the main road without views doesn't make it a place where you would want to spend a lot of time - use it as a great base for exploring the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Many thanks Vanessa for your lovely comments. We are pleased that as you booked direct with us your Free Breakfast and Wine was appreciated. We are a great base for exploring the area and as we are a Motel, good value, however there are plenty of Resorts for those who wish to spend a lot of time in their accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

This was a great base for exploring the Margaret River region. Good value deals, friendly host and very well maintained rooms and grounds. The forest is immediately behind the accommodation and Brew House brewery next door has excellent food and beers.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank OriginalCoffeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Many thanks for your review. As you say the location is excellent, close to Town, River and the Brewhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at the motel for 3 nights. During checking in, Denise the host, was very welcoming and provided many good advise on where to visit ( free maps provided ) and where to eat around Margaret River ( discount name cards and menus available ).

The room is very new, clean and comfortable. There's also a folder in the room containing the Menus and pricing of the many restaurants around Margaret River area.

Denise is very knowledgeable of the Margaret River area. Whenever I tell her where I will be going to visit for the day. She is aways able to advise on the good photo shoot points, great places to eat and views to enjoy.

The motel is just next to the Bussell Highway and very easy to locate. It's only 5 minutes walk to the Margaret River Town Center. There's a big Coles supermarket in town.

There's only one small point to note. Since the Motel is very close to the main road, do expect some traffic noise. However it did not border me and my wife much, since we are used to living in the city.

Room Tip: Very comfortable. Good shower pressure. DVD available for loan. WIFI is fast. No sink for washing o...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank limfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

What a lovely review Fang, we thank you so much for taking the time. It was lovely chatting with each day to help plan your outings and where you were to have lunch and dinner. We hope to see you back again some time. Cheers Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
2.6 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
748 reviews
1.3 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
1.1 km away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
2 km away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,031 reviews
9.4 km away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage

Address: 25 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range: $140 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDGE OF THE FOREST MOTEL & COTTAGE are more than just your average style accommodation. Family owned and operated, stylish, clean and comfortable. MOTEL ROOMS feature Decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking various gardens plus Patios of rooms located at the rear of the Motel overlook the guest barbeque area and have Forest views. Stylish en-suites have toiletries & heatlamps. EDGE OF THE FOREST COTTAGE is located next door to the Motel. Fully self-contained with Lounge, Dining, Kitchen, Bathroom, 2 Queen Rooms & 1 Bunk Room with 2 Bunks. There is a separate Studio with Double Bed & en-suite. Both properties border State Forest and are a short stroll to town centre Restaurants, Cafes', Shops & Galleries. Tranquil walk and cycle trails from the property through the Forest lead to stunning views of the Margaret River. The Cottage outdoor dining area has a barbeque and beautiful Forest views. Both Properties have Free Wi-Fi & Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Of The Forest Motel & Cottage Margaret River, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing