We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
315
134
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
134
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely garden area modern bathroom family room friendly owners bbq area free wifi fresh milk town centre margaret river area min walk the main road bussell highway local attractions nice room excellent stay would definitely stay here again stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This is the 2nd year we have stayed in Edge of the Forest.
The apartment was very cosy and clean. We have great sleep each night despite the cold spring at 8 degree in the night. We love the trail walk each morning just behind the apartment!
Dennis and Alan were fantastic host! Ever ready to assist in many ways and in providing great tips on eatery and place of interest to visit. Will be back to Edge of the Forest again!

Room Tip: We love to have the garden facing room at the backyard. Love to have our breakfast there, enjoy hearing the chirping of the birds and the fresh air. Alan has kept the garden very pretty !
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LILY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you Lily, it was lovely to see you both again. Always a pleasure to give you tips on our wonderful region. See you next year. Regards Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed for two nights in order to explore the nearby vineyards, caves and lighthouse. The motel is in a great location (within walking distance of town and close to a lovely pub with live music and delicious food called The Brewhouse). The room was cosy during our winter stay with a heater and electric blankets. There was plenty of welcome and information during our check in and the room was neat and clean with a good bathroom. The breakfast basket in the room allowed us freedom and the complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch. It was completely adequate for our needs and we enjoyed our stay - good value. However, being next to the main road without views doesn't make it a place where you would want to spend a lot of time - use it as a great base for exploring the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Many thanks Vanessa for your lovely comments. We are pleased that as you booked direct with us your Free Breakfast and Wine was appreciated. We are a great base for exploring the area and as we are a Motel, good value, however there are plenty of Resorts for those who wish to spend a lot of time in their accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

This was a great base for exploring the Margaret River region. Good value deals, friendly host and very well maintained rooms and grounds. The forest is immediately behind the accommodation and Brew House brewery next door has excellent food and beers.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank OriginalCoffeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Many thanks for your review. As you say the location is excellent, close to Town, River and the Brewhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at the motel for 3 nights. During checking in, Denise the host, was very welcoming and provided many good advise on where to visit ( free maps provided ) and where to eat around Margaret River ( discount name cards and menus available ).

The room is very new, clean and comfortable. There's also a folder in the room containing the Menus and pricing of the many restaurants around Margaret River area.

Denise is very knowledgeable of the Margaret River area. Whenever I tell her where I will be going to visit for the day. She is aways able to advise on the good photo shoot points, great places to eat and views to enjoy.

The motel is just next to the Bussell Highway and very easy to locate. It's only 5 minutes walk to the Margaret River Town Center. There's a big Coles supermarket in town.

There's only one small point to note. Since the Motel is very close to the main road, do expect some traffic noise. However it did not border me and my wife much, since we are used to living in the city.

Room Tip: Very comfortable. Good shower pressure. DVD available for loan. WIFI is fast. No sink for washing of dirty plates and utensils in the room. Just leave them on the table in the room and they will be cleaned daily and returned.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank limfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

What a lovely review Fang, we thank you so much for taking the time. It was lovely chatting with each day to help plan your outings and where you were to have lunch and dinner. We hope to see you back again some time. Cheers Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

A nice very clean little motel in a great part of the world with friendly owners. The back units have a nice tranquil setting. There is a pleasant little outdoor patio for each unit with a peaceful forest setting. Everything you could ask for as far as room amenities go and the only small detractors were that the walls seemed just a little thin allowing one to hear the conversation of those next door and the location is a little tricky and dodgy to access, especially coming from town, when traffic was busy on the highway. Walking into town may also be a bit of a challenge after dark with no defined footpath at the very edge of town and a road crossing to negotiate but it's not too far from the restaurants . Having said that, things quietened down at night and sleep quality was good on a very comfortable bed.

We weren't there long enough to give a detailed review but wouldn't be unhappy to stay again if in Margaret River. If it's clean and cosy you want then this property certainly suits.

Room Tip: See if you can get a cottage towards the rear away from the highway. It might be even quieter
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Many thanks Wayne for your review. Were pleased that you found the Motel clean and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews