We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
315
135
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
135
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely garden area modern bathroom family room friendly owners bbq area free wifi fresh milk town centre margaret river area min walk the main road bussell highway local attractions nice room excellent stay would definitely stay here again stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at the motel for 3 nights. During checking in, Denise the host, was very welcoming and provided many good advise on where to visit ( free maps provided ) and where to eat around Margaret River ( discount name cards and menus available ).

The room is very new, clean and comfortable. There's also a folder in the room containing the Menus and pricing of the many restaurants around Margaret River area.

Denise is very knowledgeable of the Margaret River area. Whenever I tell her where I will be going to visit for the day. She is aways able to advise on the good photo shoot points, great places to eat and views to enjoy.

The motel is just next to the Bussell Highway and very easy to locate. It's only 5 minutes walk to the Margaret River Town Center. There's a big Coles supermarket in town.

There's only one small point to note. Since the Motel is very close to the main road, do expect some traffic noise. However it did not border me and my wife much, since we are used to living in the city.

Room Tip: Very comfortable. Good shower pressure. DVD available for loan. WIFI is fast. No sink for washing of dirty plates and utensils in the room. Just leave them on the table in the room and they will be cleaned daily and returned.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank limfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

What a lovely review Fang, we thank you so much for taking the time. It was lovely chatting with each day to help plan your outings and where you were to have lunch and dinner. We hope to see you back again some time. Cheers Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

A nice very clean little motel in a great part of the world with friendly owners. The back units have a nice tranquil setting. There is a pleasant little outdoor patio for each unit with a peaceful forest setting. Everything you could ask for as far as room amenities go and the only small detractors were that the walls seemed just a little thin allowing one to hear the conversation of those next door and the location is a little tricky and dodgy to access, especially coming from town, when traffic was busy on the highway. Walking into town may also be a bit of a challenge after dark with no defined footpath at the very edge of town and a road crossing to negotiate but it's not too far from the restaurants . Having said that, things quietened down at night and sleep quality was good on a very comfortable bed.

We weren't there long enough to give a detailed review but wouldn't be unhappy to stay again if in Margaret River. If it's clean and cosy you want then this property certainly suits.

Room Tip: See if you can get a cottage towards the rear away from the highway. It might be even quieter
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Many thanks Wayne for your review. Were pleased that you found the Motel clean and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Very well-maintained property, with everything we required. Great to be able to walk to the Brewhouse. Good central location to all the region's attractions. Would definitely stay again on a subsequent trip.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathymX885LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Many thanks Kathy for taking the time to review our Cottage and found everything to your liking. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Edge of the Forest is situated just at the edge of town. Surounded in the forest but very close walking distance to town and restaurants. The room I stayed might have been small, Motel room. But very comfortable and clean! Serviced every day, clean smell from the forest and the outdoor patyo that each room had was a plus! Friendly owners that tend to your every need.
Recommend highly if staying in Margaret River.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank 5directions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you so much for your recommendation and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the cottage on 29May2017 for 2 nights and were so impressed and happy with the place. It was indeed a great find, location is superb (just 10mins walk n we reached the beginning of Margaret River town). The cottage was so clean, everything well thought out for us. Denise gave us pointers to the surrounding attractions and Alan lent us a pole so that we could pluck down the bananas at the cottage! Love love the BBQ area at the cottage. Not kidding when I said we'll certainly be back to stay there again when we next visit MR!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank ameliakuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise W, Owner at Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hello Ameila, We enjoyed meeting you and knowing that you were enjoying yourselves and the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edge Of The Forest Cottage again. Best regards Denise & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews