We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
42
50
23
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
50
23
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne room la scarpetta heritage listed building leather furniture private courtyard separate shower hot water included breakfast other guests location is great the main street close to town glass of wine would stay again wood fire bed was comfortable spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Such a warm welcome and friendly advice. We arrived well early and the staff helped us figure out what to see and do. Lovely room we stayed in the champagne room with champagne, spa and chocolates. Great breakfast! Good price. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozcouple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We knew we would enjoy our stay at the Bridgefield Guest House as soon as we walked through the front door and were confronted by Bruce, the friendly owner. The furnishing in the reception area, as all parts of the guest house were an eclectic mix of contemporary, Art Deco, Art Nouveau and just 'old stuff' with some lovely oriental ceramics thrown into the mix. However, it was all put together with such flair and good taste that it just works beautifully with the wooden paneling that pervades. We were particularly taken with the old red leather senate seats and desk.
We stayed upstairs in the Champagne room with it's own little balcony where we spent one evening grazing on Margaret River delicacies, picked up that morning at the wonderful Farmer's Market. All washed down, of course, with some fine MR wines. A perfect evening.
The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower and a small (but effective) spa.
The bed was comfy with high quality linen. Curtains and wooden shutters worked well in keeping out the morning sun.
The complimentary bottle of bubbles that awaited us on arrival was much appreciated after a three hour drive down from Perth.
Continental breakfast was served in Nathalies Restaurant in the same building (but not owned by the same people) and was included. We didn't have the cooked breakfast, but for just $10 extra, it looked like good value. The cold breakfast was very adequate with a variety of juices, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, breads and pastries and preserves. More than enough to fill us up for the day.
It needs to be said that the room was noisy - but that's the price we were prepared to pay to be conveniently located in the heart of the MR township. We sleep with the windows and doors open - I suspect the noise would be less if one closed these. For those sensitive to street noise, bring ear-plugs. The traffic isn't too bad through the night, but seems to start up at about 5 in the morning. On the positives side, we were a 5 minute stroll to the restaurants, shops and cafes of the township which meant no driving was needed when we went out for a meal and a few drinks.
Overall, we loved this place - just one little gripe - with the attention to detail throughout the whole establishment, I was rather shocked to open the wardrobe and find a motley array of wire and plastic coat hangers. Such a small thing really, but some people are fussy about what they hang their good clothes on. A few wooden hangers would have been nice.
Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: The Champagne room has a great balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

For those who don’t know Margaret River: this tourist town has the Bussell Highway running right up the main street. At times the road can be quite busy with a mixture of cars and heavier vehicles. If you stay in accommodation that is close to this main road then you will almost certainly have traffic noise to contend with to some extent unless you are a heavy sleeper. The bonus of staying at accommodation in the main street is that you are within close walking distance of restaurants, bars and shops.
Bridgefield is located on the main road but we chose it because we didn’t want to have to drive back and forth, in and out of town from a B&B location which could be 10 kilometres or more out of town. We wanted to relax over a meal in one of the town’s delightful restaurants knowing that we could then wander back to our accommodation on foot.
We chose the Champagne room. It is upstairs in the newer section and further back from the road than other rooms that are located in the “old” historic part of the complex. The room was beautifully appointed and Bruce pointed out the bottle of wine that was in the fridge waiting for us. It was instantly visible that care had been taken in choosing the furnishings. The bed was comfy with delightful bed linen. There is a private verandah outside the French doors where we sat each evening. It is an area fronted by trees so we felt secluded. The en-suite bathroom is wonderful. It is very roomy with both a spa and a shower. The towels were soft and white. There is an air-conditioner, TV etc. and masses of cupboard/wardrobe room. The room and bathroom were very clean.
The first night we were there was unusually hot by Margaret River standards. We attempted to sleep with the air-conditioner on but found it quite noisy so we had to resort to shutting it off and keeping the French doors open. This of course let in more traffic noise than we would have liked. We pointed out the air-con problems to Bruce the next morning. It was Saturday so we realized nothing could be fixed with the air-con for our second night. Bruce kindly lent us the large pedestal fan that sits in the lounge room. We found Bruce to be quite helpful.
A continental breakfast at Nathalies Restaurant (on the same block of land) was quite decent and was complimentary. We ate there one night too but although the food was excellent we found the prices rather high for our budget. But then this is a tourist town and prices for many things are more expensive here.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer rooms that are not part of the main building
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was a lovely 'heritage' guest house, but our room was so small that it had no chairs, no room to put down a suitcase and nowhere to hang or put away clothes. The air con was in the bathroom and the room only had a ceiling fan and no windows! The breakfast however was excellent. We agree with the comments about the owner's indifference to complaints although after two nights we were upgraded.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Theplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel has a very good location. Directly at the entrance of Margaret River town, but away from all the noisy tourist pubs. But nice restaurants and supermarkets are still in walking distance. An old hotel but well maintained with friendly service staffs. We stayed for 2 nights in the main building. All the rooms in the main building are pretty small and have no wardrobes inside. Due to the thin walls, the rooms are very clairaudient. We are quite disappointed by the lack of cleanliness in the bath room. Both shower cabin and bath tub have not been cleaned since last visiting. Breakfast is included in the room rate but is very limit, which is quite different to our European understanding of such a "continental breakfast".

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews