We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rob M

The pearl of Margret River

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2024
Expectations were high, however the reality exceeded the expectations exponentially. From the warmest of welcomes by Becky to the final farewell with scones and jam, our stay was stupendous. The rooms took ones breath away with balconies looking onto the exquisite gardens. Starting each day with a magnificent breakfast was always a winner. The highlight though, without exception was the magnificent staff who personified the word courteous and were true ambassadors for the Basildine Manor experience!
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Enjoy the experience!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review
Responded 12 June 2024
Dear F2068MWrobm,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review! We are delighted how much you enjoyed your time at Basildene Manor. I will pass on your kind comments to our team; they will be thrilled! Your review will land on our team's "warm & fuzzies" - the special reviews that help us thrive! We look forward to your next visit to Margaret River!

Warm regards,
Maike and the Team @ Basildene Manor
Assistant Manager


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Courtyard King Spa Room at the Prideau's of Margaret River
AU$253
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$253
  • Hotels.com
    AU$253
  • Priceline
    AU$253
1.8 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$238
  • Hotels.com
    AU$238
  • Vio.com
    AU$223
  • Expedia.com
    AU$240
2.2 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$176
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$184
2.0 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$222
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
  • Vio.com
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
    AU$230
2.6 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
A photo of our twin-share motel rooms!
AU$156
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$177
  • Agoda.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
    AU$194
1.2 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
0.6 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$138
  • Trip.com
    AU$157
  • Priceline
    AU$142
2.3 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Margarets Beach Resort
AU$223
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$197
  • Hotels.com
    AU$217
6.8 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
VIEW OF THE COURTYARD THROUGH THE WINDOW
AU$136
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$131
2.3 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$183
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
  • Vio.com
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
    AU$191
3.1 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Margaret River
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
1,072
121
28
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,072
121
28
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones parting gift champagne suite magnificent gardens afternoon tea journey home butter and jam breakfast room old world charm beautiful room coffee machine beautiful place to stay sitting room excellent breakfast bbq facilities little touches margaret river region
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

We loved our stay at Basildene Manor. All of the staff were very friendly, attentive, polite and helpful. The room was very clean and well presented.
We loved our stay at Basildene Manor. All of the staff were very friendly, attentive, polite and helpful. The room was very clean and well presented.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Getaway41830191853
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear Getaway41830191853,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Basildene Manor and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Team Basildene ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2024

This is probably my 5th visit to Basildene over the last 20 years. The building and gardens were lovely as always, but special mention needs to be made this time about the exceptional service from the current Basildene team.

Thank you Becky, Daniela x 2, Maike, and the rest of the team made my initial stay and extra extension so enjoyable. All other non contact staff such as cooks and cleaners were also very friendly and helpful, even in passing. Special thank you to Becky, probably one of the most helpful, charming and friendly hotel reception/concierge i've ever met. Looking forward to my next stay at Basildene when i come back to Margaret River

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Response75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear Response75,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review! We are delighted how much you enjoyed your time at Basildene Manor again. I will pass on your kind comments to our team; they will be thrilled! Your review will land on our team's "warm & fuzzies" - the special reviews that help us thrive! We look forward to your next visit to the Manor in Margaret River! ♥♥♥

Warm regards,
Team Basildene ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

Strep back in time to the days with Magnificent gardens, luxurious suites and attentive friendly staff eager to assist.
Complimentary touches that make you feel special from coffee choices to a pillow menu. A memorable place to stay exceeding all expectations, reminisce of yesteryears.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acsgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear Acsgcs,

Thank you for your glowing review. It was great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the South West.

Warm regards,
Team Basildene ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

We really loved our stay at this boutique historic hotel in the Margaret River. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was perfect for exploring the wine region. The only suggestion to improve the experience is to have firmer beds for back support. Overall very pleasant!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear 379tessh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Manor stay. We are all so delighted that you have enjoyed the experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Team Basildene ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024

Amazing place. Beautifully restored old mansion with modern amenities, situated in lovely, spacious grounds. Generous sized bedroom with king sized bed and even a great selection of pillows. The staff were pleasant and helpful and provided some lovely surprises, which made our stay even more enjoyable. Although the property borders a reasonably busy road, it was whisper quiet indoors. A great location, minutes away from Margaret River shops and restaurants.

Room tip: There is only one washing machine and one dryer so plan your time well! Staff said some days no one uses them while other days are very busy
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worfago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Dear worfago,

Wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time! Thank you for your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, we hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.

Warm regards,
Team Basildene ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews