We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$508
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Trevor A

Amazing old world experience with modern facilities

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Amazing place. Beautifully restored old mansion with modern amenities, situated in lovely, spacious grounds. Generous sized bedroom with king sized bed and even a great selection of pillows. The staff were pleasant and helpful and provided some lovely surprises, which made our stay even more enjoyable. Although the property borders a reasonably busy road, it was whisper quiet indoors. A great location, minutes away from Margaret River shops and restaurants.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: There is only one washing machine and one dryer so plan your time well! Staff said some days no...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review
Responded 1 week ago
Dear worfago,

Wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time! Thank you for your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, we hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.

Warm regards,
Team Basildene ♥
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.9 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Courtyard King Spa Room at the Prideau's of Margaret River
Tripadvisor
AU$356
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$357
1.8 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$195
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
    2.0 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
    Free parking
    Spa
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$321
    • Algotels
    2.0 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    3 Bedroom Cabin
    Tripadvisor
    AU$189
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    2.8 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Spa bedroom early evening
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Priceline
    3.8 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Pool
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Priceline
      AU$234
    • Hotels.com
    1.4 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
    Free parking
    Pool
    Cottage #8 Small Family Cottage
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    4.7 km from Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Margaret River
    Reviews (1,222)
    Filter reviews
    1,222 results
    Traveller rating
    1,058
    121
    28
    6
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,058
    121
    28
    6
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews scones parting gift champagne suite magnificent gardens afternoon tea journey home butter and jam breakfast room old world charm beautiful room coffee machine beautiful place to stay sitting room excellent breakfast bbq facilities little touches margaret river region
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 1,222 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    The rooms are very cosy and stylish. The whole team at Basildene are so welcoming that you feel like a special guest from the moment you arrive until alas you are departing.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sharon J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear sharonjA8372RL,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your time here. I will pass on your wonderful comments to our team. The best reward for all of us within the Basildene family is a lovely review like yours! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

    Warm regards,
    Team Basildene♥

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 April 2024

    We come back every year for 12 days- need I say more! Clean and spacious rooms, beautiful friendly staff, amazing food and glorious gardens! There is so much to see around Margaret river and beyond and Basildene is a perfect base. Rest, relax and restore! See you next year!

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jenni v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear 331jenniv,

    It is always a pleasure to see you return! We appreciate your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you again next year!

    Warm regards,
    Basildene Team ♥

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 April 2024

    We absolutely loved our entire stay at the Basildene Manor. The staff was beyond welcoming, helpful and proud of their beautiful Manor. Becky was so thoughtful at checkin. She provided us with maps, restaurants, wine tastings etc., The breakfast each day was spectacular! The close proximity to the town, beaches and caves was very nice. The grounds are absolutely amazing. At check out they gave us fresh scones for our drive. Not one detail missed. Thank you so much a must stay place!!!

    Room tip: Just slow down and enjoy your time! It is very special.
    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Exploration379200
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Exploration379200,

    What a fabulous review! It is a joy to hear that you had a lovely time at Basildene Manor. I will pass on your kind comments to our team with a special mention to Becky! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as delightful as the previous one.

    Warm regards,
    Basildene Team ♥

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2024

    The hotel is very comfortable and full of character, the grounds beautiful, breakfast - the best we had in Western Australia and afternoon tea and homemade cake a bonus! All the staff were very friendly and went over and above to help. We visited on Margaret Rivers busiest weekend but it never felt like that when we were in the hotel. Extremely peaceful stay. Would recommend highly to others.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank familyreunited
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

    Dear familyreunited,

    Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the location and facilities at Basildene Manor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

    Warm regards,
    Basildene Team ♥

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

    We absolutely love this place. The beds are big and comfy, the rooms spacious and so is the bathroom. We love having a balcony to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The gardens are lovely to walk around, and we enjoyed a BBQ one evening - the manor provided all we needed including tablecloth and wine glasses - just BYO food and drinks.
    The breakfasts are fantastic in the conservatory overlooking the gardens. Staff are always welcoming and helpful - and Meike went above and beyond for me when I was looking for a beer glass (thanks so much Meike!).
    Staying over Easter had the extra advantage of hot cross buns, then the surprise of a bunch of Easter Eggs outside our door on Sunday morning! The special gift upon leaving is always a lovely treat!

    Room tip: We enjoy looking up whats on in town, and going to plays out bands that are performing -something we don’t get to do with our busy home life
    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Darchyp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Maike Lawrence-Brown Assistant Manager, Other at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

    Dear Darchyp,

    Thank you for your glowing review. It was great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us again. I am happy my german beer glass helped you out! ♥
    We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the South West.

    Warm regards,
    Basildene Team ♥

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews