We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Expat Adrian
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Average…. Tired and in need of an upgrade

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2023via mobile
What’s good: The double bed is comfy and spacious, Queen Room had great space. Six soft drink cans and two waters complimentary. Tea and coffee great. Staff were lovely. Microwave and bar fridge worked fine. Air conditioning in room worked fine. Four minutes drive from the Main Street of town.

What’s not: The Stay Margaret River official website states they are ‘luxury accommodation’, this is extremely misleading.

$954.00AUD for three nights with no daily housekeeping. Room service delivered like takeaway but at room service prices, delivered in cardboard containers, not on a tray, no plates or cutlery, small portions for the price. Dishes cooked and delivered in no particular order. No food orders accepted after 8pm, even on a weekend. If you want your coffee cups, glasses, plates replaced, you have to take them to the ‘self catering centre’ and replace them yourself.

TV in room is not a Smart TV.

Entire complex is so tired, pool, grounds, furniture; shower in the bath.

If you’re paying over $300 a night, you expect a bit more IMO. Either reduce your price to a budget hotel level or improve the facilities and service.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Courtyard King Spa Room at the Prideau's of Margaret River
AU$253
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$253
1.2 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$184
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$230
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$450
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$450
0.6 km from Stay Margaret River
Free parking
Pool
The Pool at the Margarets Beach Resort
AU$217
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
7.4 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$181
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
3.7 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
VIEW OF THE COURTYARD THROUGH THE WINDOW
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$238
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
A photo of our twin-share motel rooms!
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Stay Margaret River
Free parking
Pool
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$191
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Stay Margaret River
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Margaret River
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
499
494
153
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
499
494
153
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini golf willow grill good size tea and coffee three nights comfy bed the main street town motel accommodation kettle region bbq birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2022 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas
This place had some great amenities but could do with some TLC. Beds are super comfy and clean. Showers have great water pressure and nice and hot but bathrooms not very clean!
Enjoyed the mini golf and pool but could do with some maintenance.
Was hard to get hold of reception but understood this may be just holiday hours….
The rooms were pretty dark and it would be great to replace the heavy curtains with blinds and add bedside lamps. Appreciate opening windows! Would love a ceiling fan. The few staff we did see were friendly. Please do NOT say that rooms are serviced daily when they are not! This annoyed me as I would have picked a self service apt otherwise.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 130kristyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2022 via mobile

I can understand not paying someone to clean a room during someone’s stay, but at least clean it properly between guests. It’s not hard to vacuum the skirting board.

Also, why have a bar if you don’t sell snacks and don’t advertise a packed lunch if you only intend to throw complimentary cheap biscuits and a couple of miniature rolls into a bag (for $25! per person no less).

Room tip: Stay… somewhere else
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank J194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Hickman, General Manager at Stay Margaret River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2022

HI,

I am sorry about the skirting board, we will certainly look at this with housekeeping as a priority.

I was disappointed you weren't happy with our packed lunch. Our packed lunch for $25 includes: 2 x filled brioche rolls, 2 pieces of fruit, a packet of crisps, a chocolate bar, 2 biscuits for morning tea and a 600ml bottle of water.
We make a point to vary the roll fillings and fruit every day so as not to repeat if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2022

On a group tour, and I was really shocked when I opened the door to my room.
It was just so very basic.
On one wall a very narrow shelf about 2ft long, a wardrobe also about 2ft wide, a shelf over the frig.
On either side of the bed are small bedside tables, a low table and two low chairs.
The aircon doesn't work very well, the TV sticks out from the wall on an angle - easy to hit one's head.
The bathroom is massive, but unbelievably bare!
A very small corner bench to my washbag on, a very small basin with a wall container of hand wash - so stiff to use that I had to use both hands to get anything out!
The toilet in one corner, and the shower a couple of metres away in another.
No shampoo or conditioner - non of the amenities that are listed in some of the photos.
Looking at the photos on this site, one would think they are from an entirely different hotel!

Room tip: check to see exactly what you are getting - do not go on the pictures on line!
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandiefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2022

My wife and I have brought about 5 vouchers to stay at this location, and we have used 3 of them, you pay a deposit that allows you to take advantage of a discount, well it works for us, a free bottle of wine, and a breakfast that is included.

It's about a 20-minute walk to the middle of Margret River village.

We have not had dinner at the restaurant.
It is not always open.

We stay in a King Room usually and it is a good size. Nothing fancy, but kept clean and serviced each day.

Parking is not bad but not often near your room.

Good room rate, and is close to a lot of what Margaret River can offer, and yes we will stay again.

Room tip: King Room gives the best value
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2022 via mobile

I spent two nights at this delightful motel. The accommodation was roomy and clean. The food was good and the service was great. The bush land setting is so pretty with some native plants, birds and even a marsupial. Stay also has all the facilities for a longer visit.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Paradise59360095636
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews