We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Nearby Hotels
USD 271*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prideau's of Margaret River(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 131*
USD 121*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stay Margaret River(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 155*
USD 95*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adamson's Riverside Accommodation(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 117*
USD 107*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Resort(Margaret River)
USD 100*
USD 96*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grange on Farrelly(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 100*
USD 92*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarets Beach Resort(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 152*
USD 122*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintages Accommodation(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 135*
USD 129*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage(Margaret River)(Great Value!)
USD 111*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaret River Hotel(Margaret River)
USD 101*
USD 97*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
222
42
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
42
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush blockrammed earth cottageswalk trailseach cottagebush experiencewood firefully self containedfirst morningbird lifepots pansbreakfast packevery morninglocal birdsshort drive to margaret riversmall familysatellite tvfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I have just spent a delightful five nights at Brussels Bushland Cottages. Everything you could need is provided in the generous kitchen. Comfy Lounge, great fire, excellent bathroom facilities. Excellent beds with high quality linens.
A very high standard of Cleanliness was consistent throughout the cottage.

Loved the early morning visits from the many kangaroos at the doorstep.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank LauranndSandra1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind review.
We've spent a great deal of time and money bringing our cottages into the modern era. In addition to completely gutting and refitting the cottages, we've also sealed the 600 metre driveway, replaced all signage and upgraded the power & water supplies. It was only after upgrading the power that we were able to install air-conditioning in the living rooms and deliver Wi-Fi to a level where guests can now stream SBS On Demand and Netflix.
Our returning guests (and many have visited more than 10 times) have let us know that they're very happy with the changes we've made.
But, that said, we can (and will) do more!
Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Cottages located in peaceful and tranquil bushland which is a short 5 mins drive to Margaret River town center. Cottage 6 which we stayed is clean and well maintained and has everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Saw many wild kangaroos and different species of birds right outside the doorsteps. Such a relaxing and enjoyable stay and would definitely love to go back again!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 234ngc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Many thanks for your review.
I agree that this is an awesome property and one of few which offers the true Australian bush experience. We're a gazetted "Land for Wildlife" property and the many kangaroos roam freely throughout.
It will appeal to nature lovers and those who love to stroll through native forest, particularly between now and November when the wildflowers will be on show.
Since purchasing BBC in 2001, we've surfaced the 600 metre tree-lined entry road, gutted and completely refitted the cottages, improved the signage and upgraded the power supply (at huge expense) in order to install air-conditioning and quality Wi-Fi.
We've done all this because we love the property and want to ensure that its popularity will live on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Simple but very well-designed cottages. All the cottages can be occupied but it still feels as if u're the only one there. Beautiful peaceful setting with kangaroos and pretty birds too. There are even walking trails, managed to get a bit lost in the dark. There's even wifi which isn't all that common for heavily forested areas (trust me, I'm a rural holiday cottage fanatic). To top it off, Margaret River town centre is only a short 5-10 min drive. Only thing on my wishlist would be a dishwasher, washing machine & dryer for each cottage but that might be asking for too much :-P

Stayed: July 2017
Thank EdwardVance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Ah yes, that would be asking too much Edward. We're a rural property and all of our water comes from a soak / dam on the property. It's pumped up to a collection area where it's treated for solids and impurities, then gravity fed to the cottages.
We can't have the trimmings of modernity because we would run out of water.
But that's why people come to stay, to live a more simple lifestyle.
Thank you for your favourable comments regarding our Wi-Fi. It's taken years and considerable expense to arrive at what is (now) a successful result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Bush retreat is right!! Beautiful cabins set in natural bushland, wood fire fully self contained. Beautiful birds and kangaroos visit. There are little bush walking tracks all around. We loved it!! Staff were friendly and very helpful. Two night stay and we received a breakfast pack and a bottle of local wine which was lovely. Woukd stay again any time

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leesah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thanks Leesah
It's great to hear that you enjoyed stay and we look forward to having you return.
It's perhaps noteworthy that we have some guests who have stayed more than 30 times through the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed Saturday & Sunday of Aug 26th & 27th.
Quiet, comfortable and exactly as advertised.
Chalet 1 was spotlessly clean with nice touches included. Bottle of wine, cereal, milk & bread. Well appointed kitchen. Tile fire and ample wood/ fire lighters.
If this is too taxing, then reverse cycle aircon is in the living area.

Bathroom was neat & tidy with complimentary soaps & shampoo.
Quality towels & bed linen.

Mobs of kangaroos and very friendly 28 parrots.
If a peaceful relax is your desire then this fits the bill. For a very reasonable price tag.

Your hosts are warm & chatty.
Your location very convenient.

You won't be disappointed .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank _pdabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Well there you have it folks, a very warm recommendation on all counts.
So, don't delay your decision as we've entered Spring and demand is going to strengthen as the temperature rises and the rainfall abates.
Thank you for your very kind comments and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews