We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bussells Bushland Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Cottages located in peaceful and tranquil bushland which is a short 5 mins drive to Margaret River town center. Cottage 6 which we stayed is clean and well maintained and has everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Saw many wild kangaroos and different species of birds right outside the doorsteps. Such a relaxing and enjoyable stay and would definitely love to go back again!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 234ngc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Many thanks for your review.
I agree that this is an awesome property and one of few which offers the true Australian bush experience. We're a gazetted "Land for Wildlife" property and the many kangaroos roam freely throughout.
It will appeal to nature lovers and those who love to stroll through native forest, particularly between now and November when the wildflowers will be on show.
Since purchasing BBC in 2001, we've surfaced the 600 metre tree-lined entry road, gutted and completely refitted the cottages, improved the signage and upgraded the power supply (at huge expense) in order to install air-conditioning and quality Wi-Fi.
We've done all this because we love the property and want to ensure that its popularity will live on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Simple but very well-designed cottages. All the cottages can be occupied but it still feels as if u're the only one there. Beautiful peaceful setting with kangaroos and pretty birds too. There are even walking trails, managed to get a bit lost in the dark. There's even wifi which isn't all that common for heavily forested areas (trust me, I'm a rural holiday cottage fanatic). To top it off, Margaret River town centre is only a short 5-10 min drive. Only thing on my wishlist would be a dishwasher, washing machine & dryer for each cottage but that might be asking for too much :-P

Stayed: July 2017
Thank EdwardVance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Ah yes, that would be asking too much Edward. We're a rural property and all of our water comes from a soak / dam on the property. It's pumped up to a collection area where it's treated for solids and impurities, then gravity fed to the cottages.
We can't have the trimmings of modernity because we would run out of water.
But that's why people come to stay, to live a more simple lifestyle.
Thank you for your favourable comments regarding our Wi-Fi. It's taken years and considerable expense to arrive at what is (now) a successful result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Bush retreat is right!! Beautiful cabins set in natural bushland, wood fire fully self contained. Beautiful birds and kangaroos visit. There are little bush walking tracks all around. We loved it!! Staff were friendly and very helpful. Two night stay and we received a breakfast pack and a bottle of local wine which was lovely. Woukd stay again any time

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leesah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Thanks Leesah
It's great to hear that you enjoyed stay and we look forward to having you return.
It's perhaps noteworthy that we have some guests who have stayed more than 30 times through the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed Saturday & Sunday of Aug 26th & 27th.
Quiet, comfortable and exactly as advertised.
Chalet 1 was spotlessly clean with nice touches included. Bottle of wine, cereal, milk & bread. Well appointed kitchen. Tile fire and ample wood/ fire lighters.
If this is too taxing, then reverse cycle aircon is in the living area.

Bathroom was neat & tidy with complimentary soaps & shampoo.
Quality towels & bed linen.

Mobs of kangaroos and very friendly 28 parrots.
If a peaceful relax is your desire then this fits the bill. For a very reasonable price tag.

Your hosts are warm & chatty.
Your location very convenient.

You won't be disappointed .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank _pdabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Well there you have it folks, a very warm recommendation on all counts.
So, don't delay your decision as we've entered Spring and demand is going to strengthen as the temperature rises and the rainfall abates.
Thank you for your very kind comments and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We went there for 2 nights from Perth and found an excellent hidden gem. Very nice, well equipped cottages, including BBQ. Nicely set into the bush, kangaroos all the way to the cottage, even some short trails on the property.
Would have been a 5point review, had there not been a last minute spoiling by the management: checkout time is taken very seriously "before 10am". We were packing the car at 9:58 when the manager drove by and told us "you need to leave, the cleaning staff is waiting to get into your cottage and is now delayed by you."

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Flying S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at Bussells Bushland Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

I understand that it was actually after 10am and that. as a number of guests had not checked out, our manager had to call by several cottages to seek the co-operation of guests. We make it very clear in our compendium and in signage within the cottage that check-out is prior to 10am (unless prior arrangements have been made). When cottages are not vacated, our cleaners are unable to begin their work and this causes difficulties.
All we ask for is that guests co-operate, so that the cleaners can complete their tasks within a reasonable time frame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
4.7 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
728 reviews
4.6 km away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
236 reviews
7 km away
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Peppermint Brook Cottages
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
124 reviews
5.1 km away
Margarets Forest
Margarets Forest
#5 of 51 in Margaret River
476 reviews
7.7 km away
Acacia Chalets & Margaret River Beach Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bussells Bushland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussells Bushland Cottages

Address: 447 Carters Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: $138 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bussells Bushland Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 rammed-earth cottages are fully self-contained, with each having 2 bedrooms (see note), fully-equipped kitchen, air-conditioned living / dining room and (shared) bathroom. Cottages are randomly scattered on our 20 hectare (50 acre) bush block and we're within easy driving (5kms) distance of Margaret River township, beaches, wineries, cafes, restaurants, shops and the region's best tourist features. All cottages have been completely refurbished and we're the equivalent of a 4-star rated property (4 gumnuts in our terminology). Wi-Fi is available in all cottages and (following a great deal of effort) can now support streaming. Note: Our lead-in tariffs are for 1 or 2 persons occupying 1 bedroom. If guests wish to use the 2nd bedroom, we charge an extra bed fee in order to cover the additional costs of linen and cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bussells Bushland Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussells Bushland Cottages Margaret River, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing