We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class winery”
Review of Voyager Estate

Voyager Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 78 - USD 109
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Wine has always been the hero in our Restaurant. The 7-course Discovery Menu is our signature experience; each course is inspired by one of our wines. Head chef, Santiago Fernandez and his team also take inspiration from the vineyards and winemaking process in creating dishes that bring a small part of our Estate to the table. Our 4-course Discovery Menu is a taster of the 7-course, for those with limited time, either matched to our recommendations or selected from our extensive wine list. We were delighted to be awarded one Hat as part of the 2018 Good Food Guide Awards. As our menus are a journey of discovery, we recommend you don’t view the menu in advance but if you can’t wait, take a sneak peek at the latest seasonal 7-course and 4-course menus on our website.
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

We really loved the walk around the extensive garden, which must look magnificent when the roses are flowering. This is a classy establishment and everything's been done in a luxurious way. Then we got to the wine. Why not the variety that we get in the Barossa or McLaren Vale, what they have is really great. We loved visiting this classy winery.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

A long leisurely lunch of the 7 course degustation option. It would have to be one of the very best meals we have had. Including the pre-meal snacks and the post desert sweets it amounted to 10 courses!
The pacing of the meal over 3 hours meant that we weren’t at any stage full or bloated.
Each course was exquisite, outstanding ingredients presented in the most imaginative way.
The staff were absolutely outstanding, professional and friendly.
Thank you, Voyager, for a truly memorable experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank JonofWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoyagerEstate, Manager at Voyager Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Dear JonofWilson

Thank you for your amazing review, we are so thrilled you had a great experience with us.

We are very lucky to have such an amazing team both front of house and in the kitchen who continue to deliver world class experiences.

Hopefully we get the opportunity to spoil you again soon.

Regards
Andrew Dickinson
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2019

The Head Gardener and the team should be congratulated on their delivery of beautiful grounds and gardens. The tasting room is large, airy, well set up and organised. Two or three of the wines we thought were very good and others average. Our server was less knowledgeable than we would have expected. While we didn't eat here other guests were very complimentary.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RogerR569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoyagerEstate, Manager at Voyager Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you RogerR569 for your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed most aspects of your visit, although very surprised to hear that you felt our staff member was less knowledgeable that expected.

We do a significant amount of training with our teams and the individuals themselves also are very committed to developing their own wine knowledge, all under the guidance of our incredibly well qualified sommelier, Claire Tonon. We also have our access to detailed tasting notes from our production team available in printed form or via our iPads that customers are welcome to use. So while staff are often still developing their knowledge, in additional to exceptional customer service I feel that wine knowledge of our team is really one of our strengths. As such, I'll seek to contact you directly to determine who and how we fell short, in order to lift our performance.

I look forward to liaising with you further. All the best for your travels.

Kind regards,

Adam Elton
Cellar Door Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

We were here for my mother's 90th birthday. The best thing about the location is the estate itself - very well maintained and beautiful gardens. We had the four course lunch and it was excellent. The food was all locally sourced. The dishes were interesting and creative without going overboard. I had the Wagyu beef which was superb. The first course of kingfish with a Japanese herb was outstanding. In short, the food is excellent and the wine , of course, goes along with it . I would have preferred real cheese platter rather than the cheese dish they served. Overall highly recommended with good and friendly service. .

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fafner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoyagerEstate, Manager at Voyager Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Fafner23

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we truly hope your mother had a great birthday, 90 wow what a milestone and thank you for choosing Voyager to celebrate the occasion.

We hope to welcome you all back soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Dickinson
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

My husband and I visited the Voyager Estate Restaurant recently where we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary by having the 4 course tasting menu lunch. We were warmly greeted on arrival and shown to a great table. We had the 4 course tasting menu with the recommended accompanying wines. The food and wines were superb and service was first class, attentive and friendly without being intrusive. Atmosphere was ambient and relaxed. Staff really made our day special with luxury chocolates and a card at the conclusion of the meal. We would love to come for dinner here but sadly that’s not on offer. Wonderful experience, highly recommended - we will definitely return. Thanks for making our special anniversary so memorable.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paddingtonurchin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoyagerEstate, Manager at Voyager Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear Paddingtonurchin61

Happy Anniversary, we are delighted you chose Voyager Estate to celebrate this wonderful occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you again for lunch in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Dickinson
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voyager Estate also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Voyager Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.