We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, and everything you need!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaret River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redgate Beach Escape
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning location, and everything you need!”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Redgate Beach Escape. The location is just stunning and so peaceful, yet only a short drive from Margaret River and wineries. We stayed at 'Bussell', and enjoyed the uninterrupted ocean view immensely. The chalet was a good size, clean, and well equipped with everything you could need, especially in the kitchen (although the knives were in dire need of sharpening!). Many wineries are only open for lunch, and self-catering is a good option for dinner. We can recommend Providore and the local Margaret River butcher for very good produce. The outdoor furniture and BBQ were also a nice touch and we loved the view from the little window in the shower. I couldn't seem to locate any face washers, but not everyone uses these I guess. The laundry was also handy. There were a few signs of wear and tear in the chalet, but nothing that really detracts from your stay, rather giving the place the feel of a well-loved holiday house. Roger and Lucy were helpful although we did not manage to meet them during our stay. It was a fabulous place to stay and we enjoyed the coastal living (and morning walks to the beach) very much. I will miss the serenity and view!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobDanMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the Bussell chalet, and it was a wonderfully peaceful and spectacularly beautiful stay. The views from all rooms, including the shower, are amazing! Views of the rugged WA coastline, and glorious sunsets are in abundance.

The chalets are well equipped with almost everything you need - although, it would be useful to pack mozzie repellant and tissues. The BBQ is great for cooking up some of the local produce, and the outdoor furniture setting is perfect for enjoying a relaxing cuppa whilst taking in the scenery.

The bathrooms are perfectly adequate, and previous reviews about the lack of space should be taken with a grain of salt. There is a vanity cabinet with 4 small drawers and a cupboard underneath for storing toiletries.

The chalets are very private, and whilst Bussell does have a driveway running in front of it, there is only 1 other chalet accessible from this driveway, so previous comments about privacy should also be taken with a grain of salt. Particularly given that there are only 4 chalets on-site.

We also requested a cot and high-chair to use while we were there, which was organised no trouble at all. Even linen and gorgeous little baby blankets for the cot were provided.

Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Roger during our stay, but all correspondence with him prior to and during our stay was excellent, and he went out of his way to assist us wherever possible.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrissieKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at Redgate Beach escape in one of their 4 self catering chalets for 2 nights over summer. Even though there are 3 other chalets around they are a good distance away each one faces a different direction - our chalet had amazing views of the coast.

We found the chalet well equipped with a fully stocked kitchen and dvds/games and loads of tourist information for the area. The location is right in the wilderness overlooking the coast with no other sign of life in sight (unless you count the WA creepy crawlies outside). It takes a few minutes to drive into the township of Margaret River and is central to most of the Margaret River region sights.

Food tip - there aren't that many restaurants open for dinner (most of the wineries have restaurants that are only open for lunch), so if you are stuck for ideas a great option is collecting local goodies from the wineries, providore or the Pantry (on the main road in MR) such as local bread, olives, cured meat, cheeses and a bottle of wine - sit down in the chalet and eat a lovely gourmet dinner while watching the sun set over the Indian Ocean. LOVELY! The chalet has all the kitchen stuff you need for this as well - even little olive oil bowl things.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My girlfriend, myself and a friend of us stayed at the Redgate Beach Escape for 3 nights in Dec and we loved it!

Our house was called Georgette and had a fantastic ocean view. According to one of the reviews here this is supposed to be one of the chalets with a restricted view. Yes, we had a bit of one of the other houses in the view but that was absolutely marginal and didn't spoil the view or our enjoyment of the location at all. I actually wouldn't have mentioned it without the other review.

The interior was very tasteful, rooms clean, beds very comfy, the kitchen perfectly equipped and the bathroom perfect size. A gas BBQ was provided which we used every night. There were also DVD's, magazines, newspapers as well as brochures of local attractions provided.

Our email contact with Roger beforehand was great and it was no problem at all when we arrived pretty late the night of our arrival without letting him actually know. We met him personally the second day when he knocked on the door to ask if everything is alright. He is very friendly and fun.

The only negative thing about our stay was the fact that we didn't see one of the supposedly stunning sunsets. The sky was pretty cloudy in the evenings. We have to come back (and we will)!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Redgate Beach Escape, staying in the Isaacs chalet for 4 nights. The sense of remoteness combined with spectacular scenery from every room and thoughtful amenities made it an entirely comfortable stay. We were travelling with our 8 month old son and it was a fantastic environment for him to enjoy as well. Providing a cot and high chair was no trouble for the owners, nor was their great advice on closest groceries and things to do in local surrounds. We'd highly recommend. Fabulous location, great value, lovely rooms and restful sleep to the sounds of fresh air and ocean. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMJBHAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
9.0 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
10.1 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.5 km away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
Forest Rise Chalets and Lodge
#5 of 51 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.0 km away
Acacia Chalets Margaret River
Acacia Chalets Margaret River
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
11.4 km away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#3 of 51 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redgate Beach Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redgate Beach Escape

Property: Redgate Beach Escape
Address: Lot 14 Redgate Rd., Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Redgate Beach Escape Margaret River, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing