We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience The Margaret River Discovery Co.
from USD 140.04
More Info
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
1,321
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,321
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews discovery tour fraser gallop canoe trip honey tasting quick coffee coastal walk off road wine barrels magnificent scenery barrel room gourmet lunch boutique winery local produce great food and wine knowledgeable guide wine making amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

A great tour for those who don’t do tours. Packed a lot in to a great tour: canoeing; wine tasting and walking all informed by Sean’s laid back but informative commentary. We could not fault anything! Just go.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 501paulao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at The Margaret River Discovery Co., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Paula

"Five star tour" "Great tour for those who don't do tours" "Just go" ..... Love it!

I should have you in my marketing department ;)

Thank you for taking the time to write such and concise and awesome review.

Regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We have done a few very enjoyable wine tours during our time in Australia, but there is no doubt this day out with Sean offers a whole lot more. The day started with a lovely relaxing canoe trip down Margaret River. My wife was very nervous about this as she’s a bit of an aquaphobe, but within minutes any fears were dispelled thanks to Sean and we had a lovely half an hour floating down the river enjoying the stillness. After the river we spent time on the coast and then had a great lunch and wine-tasting session at the boutique Frazer Gallop winery. We then had a walk along the Cape Trek. All the way through, Sean guides you with the enthusiasm and the boundless knowledge that only a really true local could talk apart. Thanks Sean!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank kyzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at The Margaret River Discovery Co., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Kyzal

Brilliant! A lot of people are a bit nervous about the canoeing when they book. I let them know the river is very calm, the paddling is easy and that they won't get wet... hopefully your review will help reassure them too.

Thanks... glad you had a great day on the Discovery Tour!

Cheers,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Sean is very knowledgeable and provides and outstanding tour. He packs in canoeing, winery, and coastal vistas into a day without feeling hurried.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank edwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at The Margaret River Discovery Co., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for your perfect summary of the Discovery Tour! Cheers, Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We are just back after a fab day out with Sean. Everything about the day was explained at the start, and a quick assessment of what would be suitable for the group was made. We are then off to the canoe trip, it’s really a gentle paddle along a slow flowing river, a great peaceful start to the day. After a quick coffee we went to a waterhole and tasted different honeys whilst watching maron squabble amongst themselves.
It was then a drive to the wine estate for a number of wines and a delicious lunch. The amount of wine with each tasting is small, but it adds up, and as there was a walk along a cliff path to come, there was plenty.
After a slightly bumpy drive we reached the start of the walk, it was a very beautiful part of the Cape to Cape walk, pleasant and not too strenuous with fantastic views opening up. Sean knew the great spots for pictures and where to sit to enjoy the scenery.
Thanks for a great day out Sean, we are very happy to recommend you.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at The Margaret River Discovery Co., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Jamly

It was my pleasure and I'm so glad you enjoyed the day. You just summed up perfectly why I call the Discovery Tour 'the tour for people who don't do tours'. Small groups, personalized and and some off-the-beaten-track experiences that you probably won't discover on your own.

Great to have your company for the day,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We really enjoyed our day with Margaret River Discovery Co Tours. Sean was a great host. He explained every very well. He gives you plenty of local tips and takes you to places that you can't access by yourself. The tour is a small group tour. The 4WD you do the tour in is a comfortable well maintained vehicle. We canoed along the Margaret River, learned about the local culture, had lunch and did some 4WDing. The lunch that we had at the winery was great, the food provided by Sean was ample. The winery that you visit for lunch doesn't have a restaurant, it is purely just for the tour and you sit at a beautiful table amongst all the wine barrels. Sean was very accommodating to everyone. In the afternoon he took us to a very special place on a cliff face and took some beautiful photos of us. I really enjoyed our tour with Sean and highly recommend it.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 544moniquef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at The Margaret River Discovery Co., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Monique

Thanks for the great review! And helping Margaret River Discovery Co remain Margaret River’s highest rated small group tour.

No tour buses, no mini vans and no big groups. Just six like minded travellers who want to experience the best of the beautiful Margaret River region.

Thanks for recommending me and remember you can continue to follow the daily action on Facebook (Margaret River Discovery Co) or Instagram (Discovery Margaret River).

Cheers Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews