We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to tour Margaret River”

Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 136.36*
and up
Margaret River Discovery Tour - The tour for...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Margaret River's #1 rated wine and adventure tours for "people who don't do tours" with Western Australian Guide of the Year - Sean Blocksidge. Get behind the tourist facade, away from the masses and discover people and places you won't find on your own. The No 1 Margaret River guide/tour on Tripadvisor since 2008. No minivans, no crowds. Personalised touring at it's best.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Don't book yet another a boring winery hopping tour, go and actually discover Margaret River!

Sean's tour was awesome. A small group of 6, driving around the area in a 4WD, learning about the history, canoeing, coffee at the beach, walking along the Cape to Cape track, and an exclusive lunch in the barrel room of a winery.

I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Margaret River!

Thank Roam751781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Awesome review!

Thank you.

You just captured in one review the essence of the Discovery Tour experience.

Love love love this review :)

Cheers
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fraser gallop"
in 41 reviews
"honey tasting"
in 30 reviews
"sean blocksidge"
in 18 reviews
"exclusive access"
in 15 reviews
"canoe trip"
in 36 reviews
"water hole"
in 7 reviews
"short hike"
in 8 reviews
"land rover"
in 14 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 28 reviews
"off road"
in 16 reviews
"coastal walk"
in 9 reviews
"wine barrels"
in 9 reviews
"barrel room"
in 17 reviews
"local flora and fauna"
in 9 reviews
"aboriginal culture"
in 7 reviews
"small group"
in 30 reviews
"wheel drive"
in 10 reviews
Filter

84 - 88 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

A great tour for those who don’t do tours. Packed a lot in to a great tour: canoeing; wine tasting and walking all informed by Sean’s laid back but informative commentary. We could not fault anything! Just go.

Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Paula

"Five star tour" "Great tour for those who don't do tours" "Just go" ..... Love it!

I should have you in my marketing department ;)

Thank you for taking the time to write such and concise and awesome review.

Regards
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We have done a few very enjoyable wine tours during our time in Australia, but there is no doubt this day out with Sean offers a whole lot more. The day started with a lovely relaxing canoe trip down Margaret River. My wife was very nervous about this as she’s a bit of an aquaphobe, but within minutes any fears were dispelled thanks to Sean and we had a lovely half an hour floating down the river enjoying the stillness. After the river we spent time on the coast and then had a great lunch and wine-tasting session at the boutique Frazer Gallop winery. We then had a walk along the Cape Trek. All the way through, Sean guides you with the enthusiasm and the boundless knowledge that only a really true local could talk apart. Thanks Sean!

Thank kyzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Kyzal

Brilliant! A lot of people are a bit nervous about the canoeing when they book. I let them know the river is very calm, the paddling is easy and that they won't get wet... hopefully your review will help reassure them too.

Thanks... glad you had a great day on the Discovery Tour!

Cheers,
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Sean is very knowledgeable and provides and outstanding tour. He packs in canoeing, winery, and coastal vistas into a day without feeling hurried.

Thank edwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for your perfect summary of the Discovery Tour! Cheers, Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We are just back after a fab day out with Sean. Everything about the day was explained at the start, and a quick assessment of what would be suitable for the group was made. We are then off to the canoe trip, it’s really a gentle paddle along a slow flowing river, a great peaceful start to the day. After a quick coffee we went to a waterhole and tasted different honeys whilst watching maron squabble amongst themselves.
It was then a drive to the wine estate for a number of wines and a delicious lunch. The amount of wine with each tasting is small, but it adds up, and as there was a walk along a cliff path to come, there was plenty.
After a slightly bumpy drive we reached the start of the walk, it was a very beautiful part of the Cape to Cape walk, pleasant and not too strenuous with fantastic views opening up. Sean knew the great spots for pictures and where to sit to enjoy the scenery.
Thanks for a great day out Sean, we are very happy to recommend you.

Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanBlocksidge, Owner at Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Jamly

It was my pleasure and I'm so glad you enjoyed the day. You just summed up perfectly why I call the Discovery Tour 'the tour for people who don't do tours'. Small groups, personalized and and some off-the-beaten-track experiences that you probably won't discover on your own.

Great to have your company for the day,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Discovery Co. Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing