We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We got given a room with blood and what looked to be semen on the doona (if you get a chance look at the doonas underneath the covers as well, all stained etc) as well as old food stuck to the table, crumbs everywhere and stains on the carpet and food and drink spilt everywhere, shower had soap scum, walls had brown marks etc. got a cleaning lady in who tried to wipe the table to get the food off and when it wouldn't just picked at it with her nails, wiped her face with the same cloth and then tried to wipe the blood and stain off the bed and then told me they don't change the doona covers except when they are really dirty. She then also told me soap scum doesn't come off. Went down to see the manager, got told we could come back another time. Felt a bit queasy after seeing all of this so left. Worst service ever and after seeing blood sweat and semen on my bed I would never ever recommend anyone stay here. Especially considering it has a 4.5 star rating!! They should have it removed. Looks nice on the outside but not worth the hefty $$. So disappointing..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 198888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear 198888,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am disappointed that the standard of cleaning was as you have mentioned as this is certainly not a regular occurrence, in fact we frequently have feedback regarding the high standard of cleanliness.

I have addressed the issues highlighted with our housekeeping team, and while retrospectively, this does not alleviate the problems you encountered, the feedback given has given us the opportunity to address areas that were not to standard and rectify them.

Again, I thank you for your feedback as positive or negative feedback only helps us to improve.

Kind Regards


Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    188
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
30
140
17
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We enjoyed a long weekend here recently that was only let down by repeated instances of bad food. First night in was room service that took an hour to arrive ...cold. Then the buffet breakfast at 30 bucks a pop with stale bread and unbelievably ..cold bacon. Because of the location (a bit too far to walk elsewhere) we tried breakfast again the next day thinking to avoid the problem by ordering off the menu - pancakes were fine, but they got us again with burnt coffee.

In the room the spa bath was fantastic and the complimentry products smelled great too. A little warning about the Sunday session (??) at the pool and we might have enjoyed that more, but I did manage a couple of swims when it was less populated. Overall, I would stay again but I'll be making use of the microwave!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear itchysoul,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. I am disappointed we did not meet your expectations regarding your dining experience. We have certainly reviewed our shortfall in our provision of service with the team, and I am confident that the delays you experienced with room service have been rectified.

In regards to your breakfast experience, I am confident again, after review that we have rectified this and indeed our food is hot, tasty and fresh.

I am pleased that you found our room to your satisfaction and we have now checked that collateral advertising the Sunday Session is in all of our rooms.

Feedback, whether positive or negative, only helps us to improve and for this I am thankful that you have provided us with the opportunity to do so.

Please feel free to contact me when you do wish to stay with Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa again, and I am confident that we can not only meet but exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards


Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

this property is outstanding as are the staff.we had a lovely visit to Kalgoorlie and had a great stay at the resort.The room was very clean and modern.The dinner we had was sensational and all the staff were very friendly.Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear ramond s,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your dining experience to be sensational. I will pass your comments on to our team whom it will be pleased to see such positive feedback.

I look forward to meeting with you on your return

Kind Regards

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopetoun, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hi we loved the ridges big rooms are really great an spacious same as the bathrooms. The we had a massage it was wonderful thanks:) Had a great stay thanks lots will be there agian for shore.
Thanks
tam

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Tammy L,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. Our Oasis setting in the desert is often a highlight of a guests stay and I am also now pleased to say we can offer Alleya Day Spa as an additional service and that you enjoyed your massage with Miranda our therapist.

I look forward to meeting with you on your return

Kind Regards

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopetoun, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

A small group of friends recently stayed at the Rydges Kalgoorlie during race round. It's not just a room, more like a mini suite. Super king size bed-very comfy, huge bathroom with double spa. Frankly all that a couple with no kids would want for a weekend away. Join up as a Priority guest and you will be pleasantly surprised at what good value this place is. We've booked again for next year.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms good for smokers as you can easily step out of your room for a ciggie, from upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Astrid S,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the large beds and double spa. Our Oasis setting in the desert is often a highlight of a guests stay and I am also now pleased to say we can offer Alleya Day Spa as an additional service.

I look forward to meeting with you on your return

Kind Regards

Edward Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalgoorlie-Boulder hotels
1.7 km away
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
Quest Yelverton Kalgoorlie
#1 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 km away
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
Ibis Styles Kalgoorlie
#3 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.9 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Quality Inn Railway Motel
Quality Inn Railway Motel
#4 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn Midas
Comfort Inn Midas
#10 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Property: Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
Address: 21 Davidson Street, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Price range (per night): $149 - $250
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa offers the traveller a 4.5 star oasis conveniently located close to the Kalgoorlie town centre in the heart of the historic Western Australian gold fields region. Offering the only hotel in Kalgoorlie with all rooms featuring couples spa baths, 92 studio, one bedroom and two bedroom accommodation rooms, indoor and outdoor resort style swimming pool and heated spa, versatile function areas, a contemporary all day dining restaurant Rydges Primewest Restaurant' and an al fresco dining area all surrounded by native Australian gardens. The hotel is the perfect destination to complete your business needs and as a getaway to relax and take in the history of the region. Come and experience the newly opened Alleya Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing