We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad smells and average service”
Review of Ocean Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Geraldton
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have previously stayed at this hotel on business trips and have had some dramas before, (smelly rooms and noise due to the locals using the adjacent playground as their battleground at night ie screaming and abuse, yelling etc) but due to its central location i have persisted - not anymore I'm afraid, JUST SAY NO. I was staying for 3 days and reported a foul smell coming from my drains in the bathroom on the 1st afternoon. The first night I was told the maintenance man had gone home and they were fully booked - so bad luick to me I suppose?? The second day I was advised the problem had been fixed but unfortunately again there was the foul smell and of course it was afternoon so nothing could be done. It continued into the next day and I checked out - not being offered any explanations or compensation so sorry Ocean Centre, not good enough and you have lost a regular customer! Not that it seems to bother them as they now have a steady stream of mining workers that seem to be in regular attendance and that probably pays the bills very nicely thanks - but NO THANKS for a very average stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maacs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 516 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel is booked out and the bar closes at 8.30. I am sure I was in the janitors room in was so dark and the noise from the air con motors. It is clean and a great location if you get the right room.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daleandjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I wanted a bit of luxury at the end of a trip but didn't get it. For the price I assumed there would be a swimming pool but this was not the case.

Rooms were ok. Secure parking but it's pretty tight for 4WDs/large cars. Got a drinks voucher for their on tap beers. The bar was actually really nice.

Great location in town and opposite the town beach.
Cheap rooms face into the carpark.

Staff were not overly friendly which I expect was because I arrived in work clothes rather than a suit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Since I first stayed in 2004 when the railway ran along the seafront I have loved this hotel. Railway line has been moved and there is a great leisure space created.

Standards are very high and the staff always friendly.

The only problem is trying to get a booking, very busy during the week and rightly so.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoosterNEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Ocean Centre Hotel is not a 4 star property. The property is dated, definately in need of an upgrade of furnishings. Although our room was non smoking, there were smokers sitting in reception and the smell was permeating the hallways and stairwells, not pleasant for non smokers.
There is a lift which is good for those unsteady on their feet. The car park is secure although not easy to park in. Staff very friendly, and welcoming, responsive to requests, a massive plus.
Prices are expensive for what you get, really is a 3 star with 4 star prices. Bathrooms could do with an upgrade but water hot and towels absorbent and clean.
Obviously a lot of corporate and mining executives use this property as it is central and nearby cafes and restaurants allow charge back to the hotel. This is a plus for the corporate and executive traveller. Rooms need refurbishment, TV very dated, best light was in the entry. However everything was clean, beds enabled a good sleep. Views only of the car park. I was caught out needing an overnight stay, did not have time to book ahead and being school holidays Geraldton was booked out, was lucky to get this room as a cancellation. Would I stay again? Yes, if wanting only to overnight on way to somewhere else although I am aware that much better accommodation with views and better facilities are available are similar prices by booking ahead. Our stay was pleasant due to staff friendliness

Room Tip: This is an older style hotel, rooms off long corridors, could smell smoke in the corridors. Quiet al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheShaddicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geraldton hotels
0.6 km away
Mantra Geraldton
Mantra Geraldton
#1 of 9 in Geraldton
691 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Geraldton
2.9 km away
Waldorf Geraldton Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Ibis Styles Geraldton
Ibis Styles Geraldton
#5 of 9 in Geraldton
325 reviews
2.9 km away
Geraldton Motor Inn
Geraldton Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in Geraldton
65 reviews
3 km away
Broadwater Mariner Resort
Broadwater Mariner Resort
#4 of 9 in Geraldton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Centre Hotel

Address: | Cnr Foreshore Drv & Cathedral Ave, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Geraldton
Price Range: AU$147 - AU$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Centre Hotel is an iconic 4 star beachfront hotel conveniently located in the heart of Geraldton’s central business district and offers high quality and excellent value accommodation . The friendly service and welcoming atmosphere give the Ocean Centre Hotel a truly personal feel. Choose from one of the 92 stylish rooms all of which feature the latest design and modern technology to ensure you have a comfortable stay. All rooms feature a 40” Smart TV that is internet enabled with free Wi-Fi internet access. Meeting and conference rooms are available for business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ocean Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Centre Geraldton
Ocean Centre Hotel Geraldton, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing