We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited many times and always excelleny”
Review of Ocean Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Center Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Geraldton
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Since I first stayed in 2004 when the railway ran along the seafront I have loved this hotel. Railway line has been moved and there is a great leisure space created.

Standards are very high and the staff always friendly.

The only problem is trying to get a booking, very busy during the week and rightly so.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoosterNEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 504 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Ocean Centre Hotel is not a 4 star property. The property is dated, definately in need of an upgrade of furnishings. Although our room was non smoking, there were smokers sitting in reception and the smell was permeating the hallways and stairwells, not pleasant for non smokers.
There is a lift which is good for those unsteady on their feet. The car park is secure although not easy to park in. Staff very friendly, and welcoming, responsive to requests, a massive plus.
Prices are expensive for what you get, really is a 3 star with 4 star prices. Bathrooms could do with an upgrade but water hot and towels absorbent and clean.
Obviously a lot of corporate and mining executives use this property as it is central and nearby cafes and restaurants allow charge back to the hotel. This is a plus for the corporate and executive traveller. Rooms need refurbishment, TV very dated, best light was in the entry. However everything was clean, beds enabled a good sleep. Views only of the car park. I was caught out needing an overnight stay, did not have time to book ahead and being school holidays Geraldton was booked out, was lucky to get this room as a cancellation. Would I stay again? Yes, if wanting only to overnight on way to somewhere else although I am aware that much better accommodation with views and better facilities are available are similar prices by booking ahead. Our stay was pleasant due to staff friendliness

Room Tip: This is an older style hotel, rooms off long corridors, could smell smoke in the corridors. Quiet al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheShaddicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Ocean Centre Hotel provides what I would describe as the "Holiday Inn" 3 star experience. It is not a 4 star hotel in my view, although the prices they charge (around $200 per night) would suggest otherwise. The welcome drink voucher is a nice touch on arrival and whilst the rooms are ok, I generally agree with other reviewers who have commented that the hotel generally is becoming dated and needs some money spent on it). What I don't like is the security or lack thereof. The balcony doors have noticeable gaps and the inadequate locks don't give you a great deal of comfort that you won' t have an unexpected visitor in the night. Signs in the hotel about burglars cause some alarm. A female friend of mine resorted to placing a chair in front of the balcony sliding door in her room with her keys tied to the chair so that she would hear a rattle if the door was forced. Come on owners - spend some money and provide proper security doors. All in all, the hotel is ok if not overpriced and surviving on a reputation that may have been correct some years ago that it was a 4 star hotel back then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level to provide better security
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tranzactnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

In family room, view of car park and non attractive gable ends of highrise building. Carpet in hallway going to our room was largely water stained and very noticeable. In our room the TV was old fashioned 21" (53cm) standard screen (no flat screen or plasma) and in the bathroom when we turned on the basin taps the water refluxed in the drain and toilet. The 2 bedside lampshades were loose and on a serious angle, curtains partly hanging off their hooks (6 in total), the shower and bathroom overall is dated and you can see the electrical components of the ceiling fan (a good 3" drop down of the fan). A back packers lodge is next door which is a basic run down building and the front of this hotel does NOT look like it does in the pictures posted on the internet!
Good points: carpet in our room looked clean, the blue was nice on the walls instead of hospital white colour, the bed is comfortable, close to the beach, restaurants and town centre and has a mini bar.
At the time of our stay family rooms do not EVER have a view only those for couples so as a family I would NEVER recommend this hotel which is a shame as it has so much to offer and just because anyone has children does not mean they do not deserve the best that the hotel has to offer but clearly this is not the ethos here.
I won't return as there are a number of other places at competitive prices in Geraldton and this hotel is not at all a 4 star and that is seen from the minute you enter the reception area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

stayed here on our way up to monkey mia lovely hotel comfortable bed good resaurant across the road nice pint in the bar we had a sea veiw beautiful.
not much to do in geralton but staff very pleasent and kind

Room Tip: definatly sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friznatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geraldton hotels
0.6 km away
Mantra Geraldton
Mantra Geraldton
#1 of 9 in Geraldton
657 reviews
2.9 km away
Waldorf Geraldton Serviced Apartments
3.2 km away
Ibis Styles Geraldton
Ibis Styles Geraldton
#5 of 9 in Geraldton
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Geraldton
2.9 km away
Geraldton Motor Inn
Geraldton Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in Geraldton
61 reviews
3 km away
Broadwater Mariner Resort
Broadwater Mariner Resort
#4 of 9 in Geraldton
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Center Hotel

Address: Cnr Foreshore Drv & Cathedral Ave, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Geraldton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Geraldton
Price Range: $147 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Centre Hotel is an iconic 4 star beachfront hotel conveniently located in the heart of Geraldton’s central business district and offers high quality and excellent value accommodation . The friendly service and welcoming atmosphere give the Ocean Centre Hotel a truly personal feel. Choose from one of the 92 stylish rooms all of which feature the latest design and modern technology to ensure you have a comfortable stay. All rooms feature a 40” Smart TV that is internet enabled with free Wi-Fi internet access. Meeting and conference rooms are available for business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ocean Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Centre Geraldton
Ocean Center Hotel Geraldton, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing