We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mid week escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges St Kilda
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mid week escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Booked this hotel as a mid week escape as I had a function nearby. Was a little hesitant as I got a great rate online and thought perhaps I would get a second rate room. I needn't have been concerned. Although the first room had an issue with the heater, I was promptly moved to the second room and received a small upgrade free. Points about the room:

-cosy feel
-clean, comfortable bed
-extra music channels on the TV
-original mini bar selection

All this combined with a great location for st kilda and great customer service, means this is a hotel I will frequent when the need arises. Would like to try an urban round room next time, although the price jump from a standard room seems rather significant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeAussieExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hi SingaporeAussieExpat,

It’s great to see that you were impressed with your room and we’re glad that we were able to assist you with the heater issue. We worked hard on our unique mini bar selection so we love the fact that you noticed and enjoyed it too. I hope you got a chance to try a few different things? My personal favourite are the Mission Tortilla Chips, and people always seem to love the Junior Mints. How comfy are our Urban Snorer beds!

Our Round Rooms are super popular, so if you want to book one make sure you get in quickly :-)

Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. Don’t forget you can follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/hotelurbanstkilda and on Twitter at @HotelUrban.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    214
    113
    39
    27
See reviews for
47
250
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel has very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Tram stops right outside (96) providing easy access to central business district in 12 minutes as well as very easy transfer from ariport bus at Southern Cross Station. Wonderful seaside escape when at Conference in Melbourne. Real beach nearby with access to Sea Baths included as Urban Hotel resident. Hotel does not have actual sea views but beach is very close. Rooms are quiet even though Fitzroy Street is busy in evenings. Plenty to eat with wide choice of restaurants and live music places. Although wireless not free at around $6 per day it is very good bandwith for Skyping if big time difference is involved.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is even quieter as it is away from the front of FItxroy Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StargazersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Hi StargazersScotland,

We love our location too! Everything you need is so close from bars, restaurants and shopping to our famous beach – and our staff love sharing their knowledge of St Kilda to all Urban guests.

Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a pleasant night's stay and would stay there again. All staff were friendly and very helpful, particularly the girl on afternoon/evening shift circa 5pm on Sat 12 May.

Room and bed were good, bathroom a little cold when getting out of the shower!

Mostly modern though the hallways on the floor we were on seemed a little tired (the walls) but not complaining. Blinds in room do let a bit of light in, in the morning.

Sleep quality for us was ordinary but moreso our problem I think and nothing I can attribute to the hotel, hence I have given a 4/5 rating sleep quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_FridgeMagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Hi Aus_FridgeMagnet,

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you hop out of the shower just slip into your Tie Me Down bathrobes, they’ll keep you nice and warm :-) It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t enjoy your sleep, maybe you should come back and experience our comfy Urban Snorers again!

Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

On arrival, there is no where to pull over to check in, so we dropped one of the girls off and drove around until we found their underground car park (out the back). The parking is at the back, it has cramped spaces AND you don't even get a car park included in the hotel room price, that's an extra $15 per car per day. The hotel was clean, but the rooms were TINY, especially for 5 girls, we had two rooms and it was still cramped. That night i shut the joining doors for a moment, they are in the way to get through to some parts of the room, and one of them wouldn't open again, so then to get into each others rooms we had to keep going into the corridor to do so. The staff were nice and friendly and the beds were comfortable, but for the price It wasn't really worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyny189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Hi nyny189

It's great to see that you liked our staff, they are super friendly and they love to take pride in offering the best customer service possible for all of our guests.

Five people can certainly be a tight squeeze! We have a few different room types that cater to different needs, so maybe next time you come and stay with us (which we really hope you do!) please always feel free to have a chat to our lovely Reservations team to find out what kind of room would suit you best. We always want our guests to be as comfy and happy as possible!

We think it's a real treat to be able to offer car parking with St Kilda being so popular with both locals and out-of-towners, plus not every hotel in the area has the luxury. The reason we charge for our car park is because lots of our guests don't drive so we like to offer the flexibility of having secure parking as an extra add on and at only $15 per night it's a bargain compared to city hotels.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The good: The beds were great - very comfortable. The room was spotless, nice toileteries, and I loved the different snacks in the room and bar fridge (even though I didn't eat them, I appreciate the hotel trying to be different). The hotel is very well located, good cafes etc nearby and we had a quiet room at the back (thanks to other reviews on Tripadvisor).
The annoying: There is only one incredibly slow and small lift - had to wait for ages, and I couldn't find the stairs to use instead of waiting.
There was a random electronic beep going off in the room. I thought it was a fire alarm whose battery had died, but it wasn't. Eventually - the day we left - the hotel staff worked out it was the phone battery that was peeping because it was flat - so flat that it had been unable to recharge for the 2 nights were were there (despite being properly in its cradle). Sadly, it peeped erratically and loudly both nights we were there. Thank heavens the beds were comfortable!
The bathroom door was a badly designed sliding door, which slid too far, so the 'handle' couldn't be reached to open it again. It also swung off its runner at the bottom when closed. It gave a cheap and nasty feel to an otherwise quite nice room.

Room Tip: As previous posters have said, ask for a room at the back away from the worst of the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi Gaiafan,

Our Urban Snorer beds are so comfy and very popular, as are the evo toiletry products. It’s fantastic to hear that you liked our Little Fridge options, we love sourcing products that are a bit different to what you'd normally see in a hotel :-).

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t like our lift as we usually receive positive reviews about it. Sounds like you were so unlucky with that phone beep and annoying door! We really appreciate you pointing it out so we can get it fixed.

Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.1 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Property: Rydges St Kilda
Address: 35-37 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#9 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price range (per night): $131 - $314
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barkly and Acland Streets around the corner, Rydges St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. All of our rooms feature premium amenities and ultra comfortable beds. For extra treats, consider our Deluxe King Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Spa Suite Room with your own double spa bath. For extra fun check out our popular Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch. Later in the day visit Mavis Brown's. Our creative, friendly and relaxed bar with an extensive range of local and international craft beers as well as scrumptious tapas and daily specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing