We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Vic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We found the staff very helpful. Were offered a room upgrade to a beach view room. Great view. The hotel was close to everything we wanted to see in St Kilda. Attended a concert at the Palais, very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,502 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Loved the location of the hotel, directly across the road from the beach and the iconic St Kilda Sea Baths, tram stop outside the door to take you directly to the CBD if desired and an amazing array of restaurants and cafes sure to please even the most fussy eaters!
If you have family, Luna Park is situated 200mtrs down the road and is sure to entice even some of the older kids!
The front desk staff were very accommodating as we had arrived on an early flight, and although the check in time was 2.00pm our room was ready and we allowed to check-in.
We had arranged a Superior Queen Room with a Bay View and it didn't disappoint. If you haven't arranged a bay view, ask for an upgrade, it's worth it to see the gorgeous Port Phillip Bay. My only negative remark would be the shower in the bath, very tight space and quite slippery, with no grab rail. My partner found it difficult also has he has had a recent knee replacement, and there was nothing to hold on too.
On the positive side, the bed was just amazing! I slept like a log the three nights we were there and I am now going to source one for home, just wonderful :)

Room Tip: A bay view room is a must!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileysontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ballarat
1
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Novotel in St Kilda for the weekend. Room was adequate and service on check in and check out was fine. We did have dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday evening. I must say the restaurant was very under staffed and luckily we were not in any hurry and the staff that were working were very pleasant. In particular the lady that was running the restaurant was very good at her job and very pleasant but you could see she definitely needed extra help. 7o'clock we arrived and did not receive our meal until 9 o'clock.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights on our first trip to Melbourne. We wanted to be near the beach, so we chose to stay in St Kilda. As most reviews have already stated, the location is perfect - the beach is across the street, there's a tram stop out front that takes you directly into the CBD in less than 20 minutes, and there is an airport shuttle bus stop at the hotel. I highly recommend the airport shuttle bus - $64 for two people, return trip, door-to-door.

We just stayed in a standard room. Since there are no balconies, I couldn't justify paying that much more for a view of the ocean from my room. We were on the top floor so we could still see some things, but a view isn't really a priority when I'm actually in my room to just sleep and relax.

We never ate in the restaurant (too many great restaurants just down the road!), but we got drinks a couple of times. The bar wasn't very well-stocked, but all in all was ok.

Good Points:
Great location.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean and serviced daily without any extra fees.
The blackout window blind was nice.
Free internet at two computers in the lobby. There is also free wi-fi in the lobby but it times out after 20 minutes and I wasn't able to log-in again until the next day.
Good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water.

Not-So-Good Points:
We initially got a room near the lifts. It was very noisy and annoying. We called the front desk and changed rooms with no problems. Avoid rooms near the lifts.
Our king-size bed was just two beds pushed together, which created an uncomfortable raised seam in the middle.
While I understand that a standard room is going to be smaller, there was only one chair. If you wanted to eat anything in the room, the other person had to sit on the bed.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again on a return trip. We really loved the St Kilda area because of the beach and its ease of getting to the CBD on the trams.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank brat601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammywest2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.9 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.3 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
314 reviews
0.6 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
258 reviews
2.6 km away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $133 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing