We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Ironman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed 29 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,589 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I'm a business traveler so my review is geared more towards that spectrum than a holiday. That being said, the Novotel is a clean, nice hotel right next to the water. It does have a restaurant with very good food, a gym (albeit pretty small), a bar, and descent sized rooms with a fridge. The rooms could use more drawer space, I like to unpack and two drawers aren't enought for anyone. WiFi is pretty expensive, not free by a long shot. They offer a corporate rate and extended stay option if you're there over 5 days. WiFi becomes free and they have in room comfort food that can be pre-ordered and delivered at a specific time for your dinner. I would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdellav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed with a number of work colleagues for a week, just after the Grand Prix. The staff were good, from reception through to the cleaners. The room was always properly cleaned, and the blackout blinds are really very effective. Just minor annoyances detracted, such as swipe keys that consistently refused to work. The room was on the small side, however it did have a king size bed. The pillows definitely need replacement though. The overall decor is getting a bit tired, but the location - across from the beach and minutes walk to Ackland Street and lots of fine eateries etc - is faultless.

Room Tip: ask for a beach view as the carpark view is nothing special !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while attending a wedding earlier this month. The location is great - right across the road from the beach and with easy access to the city. I cannot fault the staff, they were all friendly and courteous and made me feel welcome. On the downside, I felt some of the details in the room (which was pretty small) could have been enhanced, the bathroom in particular gave a cheap, plastic impression and it wouldn't have taken much to give a classier finish. I was surprised that I wasn't offered tea or coffee at breakfast, but maybe that's an Australian thing. Would I go back - yes. Is it the best hotel I've ever stayed in - sadly not.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the room I was in overlooked a carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay in St Kilda, and thank you for recognising our professional friendly staff. We will follow up your comments regarding the bathroom maintenance & apologise for any inconvenience.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sydney, Australia
1
Reviewed 26 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.3 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
491 reviews
0.8 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.5 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
0.6 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $142 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing