We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to stay - friendly staff & top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Prince
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay - friendly staff & top location”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This was our second visit to The Prince and I still think it's a great spot. We booked a deluxe room this time (that's all that was available) and it was rather small although perfectly functional. I'd recommend getting a superior room if you can, especially if you prefer a bath to a shower.

The hotel is great value and breaky at Circa is always good. The staff are friendly, beds comfortable and the rooms are nice - good furnishings and amenities. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    89
    37
    28
    15
See reviews for
17
121
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Room: we had a good size room, nice decor, but need updating. There are knocks on wall corners and some visible stains. Built in furniture are also looking tired and need polishing.

Noise: Every night we could hear a drumming noise of what it seems like a door that's not shut or old window that vibrates due to the wind.
The hotel staff kindly offered us to sleep in different room but we were directed to a room that's facing the main street - which is even noisier with the bar downstairs!!!! -. We decided to stay at our room and were provided with ear plugs.

Breakfast: good quality food, worth it if it's included with the room rate.

Service: all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Overall: It's a nicely designed & decorated hotel, but the rooms facing the streets are very much glorified motel rooms! We were lucky to get a room that faces internally, but still had noise problem (the drumming noise). As it was a converted motel, structurally it is still a motel, very thin walls and really need good sound proofing! They seriously need double glazing on all glass windows and doors! Also there's a small pool in this hotel, and you can smell chlorine wherever you go.

It's a shame that we were dissappointed with this hotel. The website looks great and it potentially can be a really cool luxe hotel even now (I think that was the intention when they first opened years ago!). It's got a nice design aesthetic and feel, but the 'motel' feel of some of the rooms and the sound issues really lets it down.

Room Tip: Get room that faces the internal courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Prince for the 5th time in the last couple of years and I was really surprised when I read the reviews from other travellers. It's by far my favourite hotel in Melbourne. I love the rooms, the new restaurant looks amazing and the food is great, breakfast is just delicious, rates include breakfast and internet which makes it really good value. And I've never had any issue with noise. The Location in St Kilda is great even it it's not that convenient for the CBD but I'll rather spend 20 mins extra on the tram.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

pretty good location, the food in the restaurant was brilliant (but expensive). probably he best food we had in australia - even compared to a £200/head meal we had in sydney. rooms are ok, but a bit "ikea". beware there is a club underneath so some rooms get bass boom all night!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank five_belliez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Everything was going so well. A lovely afternoon in St Kilda, a relaxing bath in the room, an incredible meal at Circa (the truffle risotto is extraordinary): all this undone by noise. I'm not talking about a dull thump from the nightclub below, but vibrations that made my wife think her mobile was ringing. The music woke us up at about 12.30pm and proceeded to get louder as the evening progressed. By 2am, the music was so loud we could actually hear the lyrics.

Of course, I called the front desk who explained that it was "the way it is" and he would pass on my concerns to the manager in the morning. Nothing could be done (even though the music was coming from a room in the same building). Upon checking out, no one was aware we had a problem, and one of the ladies behind the desk asked if we were offered earplugs.

So here's my problem.

The fact that she would ask if I was offered earplugs implies that they know there is a noise problem. Why we would a hotel knowingly sell a room knowing there are noise issues? Because they care more about money than their customers.

We were offered a discount, but it was scant consolation given we had a 9 hour drive to Sydney ahead of us on only a few hours sleep.

I should also mention the room we were in (301) was adjacent to the pool's pump which also made the room quite noisy. The bed was also below standard.

The restaurant is excellent - one of the best meals I've had - but if you are planning on sleeping on a Satrusday, find a bed somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElCapitanTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.3 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
234 reviews
0.7 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
433 reviews
0.2 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
249 reviews
0.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince

Property: The Prince
Address: 2 Acland St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price range (per night): $127 - $236
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince is Melbourne's premier boutique hotel, hidden in the cosmopolitan bayside suburb, St Kilda. With 40 individually designed rooms, Veuve Clicquot in the minibar and (MALIN+GOETZ) bathroom amenities guests will enjoy a stay with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince St Kilda
The Prince St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing