We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation”
Review of Sixty Two on Grey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sixty Two on Grey
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Sixty Two on Grey is a small boutique hotel located very close to the heart of St Kilda. Upon entry the room smelt very strongly of bleach, (i didn't mind this as it meant it was clean) and after further inspection the apartment was relatively clean.
We had an apartment on the bottom floor in the main building and it was quite dark even during the day, with only one window allowing light into the entire apartment. The doors to the bathroom aren't completely frosted so we could see right through to the person on the other side, and the fold out sofa bed was very, very unappealing.
These negatives aside, the accommodation is moderately priced for what you are receiving, the main bed was clean and comfortable and we really appreciated the late checkout of midday.
I would stay here again due to the convenience of how close it is to everything in St Kilda and the simplistic check in and checking out procedure. I will however press the issue of wanting an apartment on the top floor because from the photos they seemed to have more natural light flooding through them.
(NB. There is free wifi which is a great touch, some 5 start hotels in Melbourne CBD do not offer this).

Room Tip: i would have preferred a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel Elyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2015

Stayed 3nights very close to track quiet upstairs with small balcony. Room was small but for the price & proximity to race track it was adequate. Would'nt want to stay more than 2-3 nights though. Would stay there again for short time.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank Robandjen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Like most people I read the reviews on this place before making any sort of booking... Unfortunately I didn't read enough. I stayed there over the Melbourne F1 weekend in March. No issues with the convenience of the place, close to shops, transport and restaurants. The let-downs being mainly with the accomodation itself:
Shower had mould in the corners, which makes me question the frequency and throughness of the cleaning.
The bedspread and sheets were clean, but very worn and with bleach stains (not a very appealing look).
The toilet was constantly running and I had to turn off the water supply overnight to stop the trickling noise.
The appartments was not very sound proof, or maybe I just had loud obnoxious neighbours... But I was able to hear all of the sounds from the adjoining apartments.
All in all I left more tired and exhausted than when I arrived, which is not really what you're wanting in a get away...

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We needed somewhere near a function we were going to on Fitzroy St and this was a good location for that. The room was basic but adequate as we chose not to stay in a Hotel. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot. However, self check in and check out makes for a low "service" score. We were at the back of the building (possibly better for noise?) past several large smelly garbage bins - not very welcoming! Every window in the room was frosted so as not to see the very close neighbours. The step out balcony was depressing and as such unusable. Fine for a night or two ... don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TwistyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Not a bad place to stay, our room was quiet and comfortable, although it would have helped to have more than one lounge chair in the sitting area. Grey St is still a bit of a red-light district at night, so not great for anyone who might find the presence of the occasional streetwalker a problem. Also there are no onsite staff, which might bother some people.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CroatiaGuide-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.6 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
278 reviews
0.5 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
364 reviews
2.2 km away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sixty Two on Grey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixty Two on Grey

Address: 62 Grey St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $146 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sixty Two on Grey 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sixty Two on Grey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sixty Two On Grey St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing