We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here as part of a month long road trip. Our initial impressions were good and the resort looked inviting from the street.

There was off street parking, which was important when we had a car loaded with goods that we didn't want to completely unpack, althought the absence of allocated parks meant that sometimes you had to park a long way from the lifts.

Our apartment was clean and spacious and contained everything we needed for a comfortable stay, althought the bed was a liitle uncomfortable.

The one complaint was the balcony, which was too small and if you sat out there you were bombarded with the noise and heat from the air conditioning unit. This was unfortunate as we like to sit on the balcony and read.

The pool and spa looked inviting, but the spa and indoor pool were continually monopolised by he same very large group of (probably) overseas tourists. There wasn't even enough room to soothe our aching feet after the long trek into the main part of town, and back. Some sort of regulation needs to applied here so that all facilities are available to all guests at some stage, at least.

As I've read in other reviews, the staff don't seem to care aboiut being helpful just pointing to brochures and the amount of information being something like 'Over there'.

Unfortunately, our final impression was bad. The downstairs bins obviously hadn't been emptied for days and the stench was foul. As well they were over full and the rubbish was laying all around the bins and onto the car parks. Disgusting and a real negative. A shame, because otherwise we would stay here again despite the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    217
    139
    43
    27
See reviews for
145
268
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Esplanade and it did not disappoint. We stayed in deluxe 3 bedroom apartment ( 401) which was fabulous. Huge balcony with 2 outdoor tables and chairs with a view to die for. The apartment was very well equipped with everything you would need if you wanted to self cater. Bathrooms and kitchen were spotless - if I was going to be picky I would say the carpets could do with a steam clean. Also a very full ashtray was left outside on balcony but was taken care of very quickly when mentioned.
We were travelling with my elderly parents and the lift was great as was the flat walk into town. They really enjoyed the water views and watching the birds from the balcony.
The beds were comfortable and 2 out of 3 bedrooms had tv plus large tv and dvd player in living area.
We ate at the restaurant 1 morning for breakfast and found it quite good - hot food topped up regularly. Not a huge choice but what there was was good.
There are 2 pools - 1 outside and 1 indoors which was heated with a spa- you need to bring your own towels for these.
Staff were pleasant and efficient - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edie83Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great clean apartment with everything you need. Good indoor and outdoor pools. Below average restaurant - food was average and not great value for money, service was below average.
Generally service was average

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I had a one bedroom apartment with king size bed, kitchen, separate lounge room. It was modern but comfortable and, even though we overlooked the main road, there was no problem with noise.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and had breakfast there as well. The food was good and staff were pleasant.

The pool outside pool was closed the day we were there, but this didn't matter to us as the beautiful beach was only a walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We bought a voucher for a three day stay at the Lakes Entrance Esplanade Waterfront Resort and Spa and it was good value. The room although compact included everything we needed including a plasma TV screen. The room on the fourth floor had a nice view. Lifts were fast and did not involve long waits. The deal included a great 45 minute massage and $30 meal vouchers every day and included breakfast. Restaurant food was good. Only fault was 50 minute wait to get into room when key card did not work. Would be a bit dear at normal rates but at the price we got it for it was well worth for our pleasant stay in this lovely town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
131 reviews
1.6 km away
Allambi Holiday Apartments Lakes Entrance
0.3 km away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#13 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
386 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
0.7 km away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#9 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Resort & Spa

Property: Esplanade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price range (per night): $111 - $275
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Waterfront Hotel Lakes Entrance
Esplanade Waterfront Resort And Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa Lakes Entrance, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing