We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value and location, stayed an extra night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican at Lakes Motel

Pelican at Lakes Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakes Entrance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelican at Lakes Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Lakes Entrance B&B and Inns
Kettering, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great value and location, stayed an extra night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Lakes Entrance is a fantastic spot to break up a Sydney/Melbourne coastal trip or vice versa, all the convenience of the city (think convenient ordinary tasting fast food franchises) with the added advantage of excellent value sensational fresh tasting food from the many local restaurants. Pelican at Lakes Motel offers the best value in town in my opinion, walking distance (flat terrain), friendly owners who went out of their way to accomodate our boat trailer. Rooms are fairly small with slightly soft matress but very clean with modern appliances and a quiet off street location. Take a look before you pay twice as much at the "name brands" in town.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are up the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed here as a one night stop-over in Lakes Entrance.

There are huge price diferentials up and down the main street, and for a 2 room suite, $130 is a bargain.

The Pelican is clean and is exactly what you are paying for, a cheap motel in a great spot. The rooms are clean, and you are in easy walking distance of all the amenities of town.

Having read the other posts and read the rules (and believe me the Pelican has some very definite rules), the owners of the Pelican must have had some problems with people making a real mess of the rooms. They openly state rules about cooking and excess cleaning fees - I appreciate that spending more than you make on a room to clean it can be an issue, there is some work needed to soften this side of the motel.

In all for one night with an easy walk to the beach - a good $130 spent.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We stayed at Pelican at Lakes Motel about a week ago. We were driving through to Melbourne and thought Lakes Entrance would be a good place to stop. We were having a bit of trouble finding decent available accommodation so we stopped at Pelican at Lakes, walked in and found that there was an availability. We paid $75 for the night and didn't expect too much. But what a pleasant surprise it was when we opened the door! The bedding was comfortable, room was clean (although there was huge sign about not cooking fish in the motel) and the bathroom was modern. It had clearly been refurbished and updated not long ago - the basin was very modern looking.

Pelicans is a no nonsense motel, very good value for money and very well located (though most motels in Lakes Entrance are located on the Esplanade anyway). We quite enjoyed the walk over the bridge to the beach. Very very good value for money, and would definitely recommend for any budget conscious traveller who would also not like to compromise on quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank By_Cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Rooms are clean and presentable, for what we paid, but we observed that the outside presentation had alot to be desired............there was weeds in pavements, gravel and along fence lines, grass was quite long in areas,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,clearly they need to keep up their maintinance of their outdoor area.
Meals were great in their restaurant.
Overall, a nice experience though

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

We had booked here for one night whilst we were driving from Melbourne to Sydney, We got our room key and found the room absolututely basic and very old. I had no problem with that as we hadnt paid that much for the room. We then went out for a couple of hours to explore the area. When we came back, we found the room crawling with ants. When we asked to be moved to another room, the owner's response was "Theres no point moving you elsewhere as all the rooms are the same". It was then that we left and moved to the Best Western Motel next door. Really poor service from the Pelican at Lakes Motel-avoid it like the plague!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smurf1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lakes Entrance hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 km away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#9 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 km away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sand Bar Motel
Sand Bar Motel
#7 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 km away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#4 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Coastal Waters Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican at Lakes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican at Lakes Motel

Property: Pelican at Lakes Motel
Address: 171 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lakes Entrance
Price range (per night): $75 - $160
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Pelican At Lakes Motel Lakes Entrance, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing