We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely outdoor terrace”

Central Hotel Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 37
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Central Hotel, located on the waterfront of Victoria's Gippsland Lakes, is in the center of town. Enjoy a meal in our bistro which specialises in fresh local seafood and local produce. A regular feature for lunch is the 'Parma & Pot' for only $17.50 in the bar is always popular. We serve local gummy shark with a crispy beer batter and crunchy chips for lunch & dinner so if its great fish n chips your after you are in the right place! During the colder months, relax with a glass of red wine by the original open fireplace. In summer enjoy the view from our alfresco outdoor area and if your lucky catch a glimpse of our ever popular dolphins passing by!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Large clean spacious place to eat in with a large outdoor terrace at back. Steaks were especially good. Generous portions.

Thank Malteser222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Visiting Lakes Entrance for a few nights in the school holidays, this was our first dining experience of our stay. Drinks were seperate and cash only??? Unheard of & we were not offered another option. I then ordered off the specials the salmon. “Sorry we are out of asparagus”, it wasn’t even 7pm?
Otherwise my meal was nice, just lacking in a sauce or dressing, so a little dry. The rest of our table had Parmigiana & enjoyed it.

Thank Andypj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Im sorry you didnt get offered another option for payment as we do allow guests to set up a Tab if you need to pay eftpos at the bar. The asparagus was substituted with another green vegetable due to the quality of the asparagus we had been supplied on the day. We like to ensure the freshest of ingredients and this was our only option, Im sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We had a quality feed. Steak came cooked as ordered and was out in good time even though the missus ordered hers well done. The garlic bread was extra garlicky but that's fine with me. Beer was cold and I quite enjoyed the Sailors Grave. Definitely recommended as a good pub feed with the only downside being it was a little pricey.

Thank Camron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Its great to hear you enjoyed the steak and the local Beer on tap, Sailors Grave. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We tried the hotel after recommendations from several people. We had the seafood platter which we thought was a little underdone. The main meals would have been far better value after perusing meals on other tables. Have had far better seafood platters. Overall it was decently priced and better than typical pub fare.

Thank hankbsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for the review, its always nice to hear people have been recommended to dine here. I hope you get the opportunity to return one day and try the menu items also. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful meal prompt and friendly service. Menu not too bad. Lovely situation in town close to water views

Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Hotel Bistro also viewed

Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 

Been to Central Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing