We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to see the lakes”

Peels Tourist and Ferry Service
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We took the Metung lunch cruise during a recent visit to Lakes Entrance. The cruise is very laid back with some commentary on the different islands and wildlife in the area. There were a few younger children on our tour that got a little restless as it takes about an hour to get to Metung.
Food at Metung pub was great, fresh local seafood and great service. Managed to see some dolphins and seals in the entrance on our way back which was incredible. Would recommend it as a good way to see the area.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank chichi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"metung hotel"
in 20 reviews
"lunch cruise"
in 22 reviews
"the pub"
in 9 reviews
"raymond island"
in 8 reviews
"pavlova"
in 5 reviews
"lovely cruise"
in 6 reviews
"gippsland lakes"
in 11 reviews
"flathead tails"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 4 reviews
"included in the price"
in 4 reviews
"informative cruise"
in 4 reviews
"lake victoria"
in 2 reviews
"recent visit"
in 2 reviews
"sun was shining"
in 2 reviews
"water birds"
in 2 reviews
"comfortable boat"
in 3 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Easter time with the family down at Lakes Entrance, a trip on the Thunderbird is a must.
We took off from the Post Office pier bang on time, (11:45 am) for the short morning trip.
As we cruised out of the dock the skipper gave us the normal run down on safety and we proceed towards the inside part of the entrance to the Gippsland Lakes. Blow and behold there was a seal just sunning itself on the rocks just watching the world go by, (probably staying out of the way of the sharks that some time come in to eat at the fish co op). We were just cruising at around 8 knots. We positioned our selfs on the stern and waited for the captan to open her up.
Boom, the Volvo Pentas wake up and we are now pushing out a humungus roster tail o I t the back. The world now just seems to just glide by, with every smaller vessel just sliding past with nothing more than a wave from the occupants.
We have

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank brad w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Went on the cruise to Metung Hotel . It was a nice day out and the meal at the hotel sufficient for a lunch. My only criticism would be that the stay at Metung was too long(there is nothing at Metung) and that time could have spent better on the lake.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Bevan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We picked the perfect day to enjoy a cruise from Lakes Entrance across to The Metung Hotel for lunch. Thete was lots to see as we cruised, beautiful views and several species of birds.
We sat outside, taking in a magnificent view across the lake, whilst enjoying a fabulous meal of flathead tails. We had plenty of time for lunch, as well as a stroll through the small town. A lovely day was had by all. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank janyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

My hubby surprised me for my birthday with a cruise on the stormbird with some girlfriends for lunch at the wyanga winery.
The trip was lovely and the captain was full of local knowledge of the area and of the lake system which he shared over microphone so all could hear.
BYO was permitted on the boat when purchased at the winery during lunch.
Unfortunately we didn’t see any dolphins but we still had a great time

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank juza_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peels Tourist and Ferry Service also viewed

 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 

Been to Peels Tourist and Ferry Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing