We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jason H
Ballarat, Australia

Nice meal, too long to wait

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Nov 2019via mobile
In order to avoid horrid fast-“food” whilst driving the interstate route, we dined here for our dinner on the way through. A nice old and friendly country town pub, menu was comprehensive and appealing. Having to wait an hour and a quarter from time of ordering was just a bit too slow I’m afraid. The food was really nice but I guess the kitchen was battling to keep up.
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bathroom in guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$184
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception / Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Royal Hotel Horsham
Free parking
Room service
View more hotels in Horsham
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
6
5
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
6
5
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2019

We were on our way back to Melbourne and were looking for somewhere to eat down the Main Street and stumbled across the Royal Bistro which was serving meals until 8.30pm. We placed our orders or chicken schnitzel and spag. bol. Meals arrived fairly quickly and were hot but not huge compared to some county pubs. Our chips were a little over cooked and the salad consisted of a few lettuce leaves, a piece of cucumber and some capsicum. We were hungry so ate our meals, grateful we were able to find the bistro still open and food fresh and tasty.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maryanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

This hotel offers basic old style pub accommodation in a lovely old building at budget prices.
Book by phone directly with the hotel, as it appears that online bookings don't necessarily align with what types of rooms are actually available.
Room was clean, service is good and staff are friendly.
The dining room is nice and the breakfast menu and quality of the food were also very good.

However, I can't recommend staying there on Friday or Saturday nights unless you're profoundly deaf or have good earplugs. The entertainment area has a 3am licence, which includes the beer garden and the hotel lobby. Apparently I was in the 'quiet corner' of the hotel, but the disco music and crowd were still very audible.
I imagine other nights of the week would be better.

Room tip: I advise booking directly with the hotel rather than online.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

It was parma night not my cup of tea but my husband had a inkling for a good pub meal but came away disappointed. He had the Hawaiian parma even though not the worst he has had he said it was average. He said if he had his time again he would order the traditional parma. Lovely old pub all the same.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2019

The Royal is a grand old dame in Horsham, with beautifully restored timer areas at the entrance to the dining room. We had a great meal here with superb service, friendly staff, and excellent selection on the menu, including fresh coffin-bay oysters!

The Lamb Backstrap was cooked perfectly, lovely selection of hot vegetables and salads in the self service area, and some nice wines by the glass available.

Recommended. Also family friendly.

A great country hotel dining room experience all-round...

Thanks Grant!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

There was a small heater in the room that i had going all night to try and keep warm. Even so the room was freezing. No electric blanket. The bedding was minimal and I had to get out the bedding from the wardrobe to keep warm. These "blankets" were old and dirty, I would not have put them on the bed if I wasn't so cold. The bathroom towels were rags and the bathroom had black mold around the bath. I didn't use the shower as it was so moldy. There was a small room between the bathroom and bedroom that had wet run marks down the walls. I would never stay here again.
The downstairs has been renovated and was lovely.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews