We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
17
20
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
20
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake hamiltonoff street parkingceiling fancomfy bedoff the highwayclose to townbasicsmotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean and tidy Tam the owner was very helpful and welcoming. Budget on the lake over looks lake Hamilton with a beautiful nature walk around. There is a skate park less than 5 minutes away and a 15 minute walk into town. The motel is of the main road and is in a nice quiet setting.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Eugene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I ended up checking in here after a dreadful experience at another motel in Hamilton where a large group of drunks were allowed to behave any way they liked at my expense (I still had to pay them despite being forced to check out to avoid the drunks). Landed on our feet here with a very helpful owner who made sure we were happy with everything. He couldn't do enough for us. Motel is a little rough around the edges but all the basics are done well. I especially liked having a quiet and gentle breeze from the ceiling fan. Clean, comfortable and quiet. And a great breakfast too.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluehour888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgetOnTheLake, Owner at Budget on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We do our best to create a clean and comfortable stay for our guest. I have been doing up the rooms one by one and have not started on the outside as of yet. really happy u had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

My partner and I came here in December which was amazing as there were so many Christmas lights around the motel!!!

We got to visit Lake Hamilton and get a few photos!

Also, the bed was comfy, can’t wait to come back again!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgetOnTheLake, Owner at Budget on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We do Christmas lights every year and the hole motel is lit up like a Christmas tree. We enjoy doing this and spreading the Christmas spirit. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stay and the light show and would be happy to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Had an awful time staying in this hotel that's called a budget, for starters went to the reception to check in and they weren't even available had to wait 20 mins for someone to open up and they were non apologetic. Motel is in a dangerous spot being on a blind corner so have to be cautious of oncoming cars or cyclists. Had a family emergency and then couldn't stay so motel decides not to give me back my money and said they have no refund policy. I would not recommend to stay here

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Pberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgetOnTheLake, Owner at Budget on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

We are a family owned and operated small business. We welcome early check-ins, when they have been pre-arranged , so that we can make sure we are on-site to welcome the guest. There is a free phone outside reception that is automatically transferred to management when we are off-site to try and limit any waiting time for any guest that has arrived early.

We greet every guest with a warm smile upon check-in and also have a friendly "hello" to share when seeing our guests around the motel. Our Motel is located on a nice quiet street overlooking Lake Hamilton. There are two entrances/exits available for use, one of which has a clear line of sight along the road, enabling easy access.

Our motel rooms need to be cleaned from top to bottom after every check out, this is to ensure future guests are afforded the same clean standards every time. We are very proud of our Budget brand heritage and strive to make every guests' stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Fairly old and basic, but all the important things were right. Comfy bed, effective heating and shower. Room had plenty of bench space and more power points than most old motels. Owner/manager was pleasant and obliging. Reasonably central location too. Aircon and ceiling fan could do with a bit of a clean.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews