We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stuff of life”

Born & Bread Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Geelong
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The stuff of life”
Reviewed 3 December 2015

I've visited the bakehouse on half a dozen occasions, from a quick coffee - and irresistible pastry - to their magnificent sandwiches, baguettes and hot baked pies, Born and Bread is superlative!

The service is always snappy and I'm yet to leave the joint without a smile on my face...

  • Visited November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Phone service”
Reviewed 11 November 2015

After reading such great reviews for this bakery, I was very disappointed that an arrangement was not available for my group of 10 for saturday morning. No menu was available to email so we could pre-select our food. The bakery did not want us to just turn up on Saturday because they would be too busy to serve us!

  • Visited November 2015
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarionSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Fabulous bakery”
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Good coffee .. most important ! But also very yummy bakery food ... sandwiches, quiches and croissants. Becoming very popular for morning coffees and lunch take-aways.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellarine Peninsula
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Croissant Heaven”
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Being a huge fan of almond croissants, I have tried many of these over the years - and have to say that those from Born & Bread are up there with the best ever tasted. My partner votes their plain croissants as equal to the best he has tried in France.

This morning I was devastated to discover that almond croissant had all sold out - however tried the almond pane au chocolat. Oh wow, what a taste revelation - this was definitely a first rate back up!

I just cannot get enough of this bakery's products!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank monkelpunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Juc, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazeballs”
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Wow. I'm so excited that this place is in Geelong and makes the most amazing croissants I've eaten in Australia. Crisp outside, delectably soft and moist on the inside....pure, unadulterated bliss. I've also indulged in a couple of their treats, a lemon meringue & custard pie. Absolutely perfect.
I haven't eaten in....just grab take-away when I'm in town but the staff are lovely and helpful. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katecameback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Born & Bread Bakehouse also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Born & Bread Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing